

Patrick Cates
Director

Peter Long Administrator

STATE OF NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION

Division of Human Resource Management

209 E. Musser Street, Suite 101 | Carson City, Nevada 89701 Phone: (775) 684-0150 | http://hr.nv.gov | Fax: (775) 684-0122

MEMORANDUM HR#05-18

January 16, 2018

TO: DHRM Listserv Recipients

FROM: Peter Long, Administrator Peter Long

Division of Human Resource Management

SUBJECT: Revision #8, Rules for State Personnel Administration

The Personnel Commission recently adopted a number of permanent regulation changes which have been approved by the Legislative Commission. The effective dates of these changes are included in this memo, as well as in the source notes at the end of each regulation. Due to the changes, the *Rules for State Personnel Administration* has been updated on our website. Replacement pages for *Revision #8* are also available on our website.

Please Note: It is necessary to use the <u>Rules for State Personnel Administration</u> publication as a reference to NAC 284 because the Law Library on the Nevada Legislature's website does not reflect all regulations that have been approved and are currently in effect.

The following is a summary of the changes.

700-Hour List (effective January 1, 2018)

Assembly Bill 192 of the 2017 Legislative Session amended NRS 284.327 to require, rather than authorize, an appointing authority to make temporary limited appointments of certified persons with disabilities who are eligible for temporary limited appointments pursuant to NRS 284.327. This is commonly referred to as the "700-hour program." The amendments place the requirement of the use of the 700-hour list into NAC 284.358-284.364.

Veterans Preference Points (effective October 1, 2017)

Assembly Bill 309 of the 2017 Legislative Session requires that 10 preference points must be added to the passing grade of all Nevada veterans, as well as to the widow or widower of a person killed in the line of duty while on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces. This bill also removes the restriction of use of veterans preference points. In addition, any qualified applicant on a list who is a Nevada resident and a veteran with a service-connected disability will be granted an interview. If there are Nevada residents who are veterans on the list without a service-connected disability, at least 22 percent of those interviewed must be veterans. If there is not a sufficient number to reach 22 percent, each Nevada veteran who is a qualified applicant will be interviewed for the position.

An emergency regulation change to NAC 284.325 became effective on October 1, 2017. A permanent amendment to NAC 284.325, which virtually mirrors the emergency regulation, became effective on December 19, 2017.

Criminal History of Applicants (effective January 1, 2018)

Assembly Bill 384 of the 2017 Legislative Session amends Chapter 284 of NRS to provide that the criminal history of an applicant may no longer be considered at the time of application. In part, the bill limits consideration of the criminal history of applicants until after the final interview has been conducted or a conditional offer of employment has been extended.

This limitation does not apply to applicants for employment as Peace Officer or firefighter, or any position that entails physical access to a computer or other equipment used for access to the Nevada Criminal Justice Information System or the National Crime Information Center. Additionally, pursuant to a specific provision of State or federal law, a person may be disqualified from employment consideration in a particular position because of the particular criminal history of the person.

Language has been removed from NAC 284.374, and NAC 284.321 has been repealed, due to changes described above.

Benefits Relating to Domestic Violence (effective January 1, 2018)

Senate Bill 361 of the 2017 Legislative Session amends NRS 613 to require an employer to make reasonable arrangements for an employee who is not the alleged perpetrator, and who is a victim of domestic violence or whose family or household member is a victim of domestic violence. Such arrangements could include movement of a workstation, a modified schedule, a new work telephone number or other arrangement that will not cause an undue hardship.

Amendments to the compensatory time (NAC 284.2508), annual leave (NAC 284.539), sick leave (NAC 284.554), and leave without pay (NAC 284.578) regulations require the approval of a leave request when an employee or the family or household member of the employee is a victim of domestic violence. The total allowable amount of leave requested for this purpose is 160 hours in a 12-month period, which begins at the time the domestic

violence occurs, and includes any combination of all leave types, e.g. annual, sick and leave without pay.

The amendment to the family and medical leave regulation (NAC 284.5811) requires that leave used for the purpose of an act of domestic violence that may also be taken pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act must be deducted from leave permitted by that Act.

The terms "domestic violence" and "family or household member" have been defined for use in relation to these new requirements.

Additional Regulation Changes

The terms "domestic partner" and "spouse" have now been defined to be used in relation to NAC 284. The amendment to NAC 284.114 incorporates the requirement that, pursuant to NRS 122A, the State of Nevada shall not discriminate against the person on the basis that the person is a domestic partner rather than a spouse.

Statutes

In addition to the regulation changes above, several statutes included in the <u>Rules for State Personnel Administration</u> publication have been revised due to the 2017 Legislative Session and have effective dates of January 1, 2018.

Form Revision

The <u>Formal Grievance</u> (NPD-50) form has been revised to include detailed information regarding the filing of a grievance related to a report on performance. The form also clarifies that if a resolution conference is requested, participation by both parties is mandated.

Updated pages with the corresponding sections of the rulebook are listed in the chart below:

SECTION	PAGE NO.
Table of Contents	i-xii
General Provisions	1-14
Compensation	15-26
Filling Vacancies in Employment	1-36
Attendance and Leaves	9-40
Separations from Service	7-8
Adjustment of Grievances	1-2
Prohibitions and Offenses	7-8
Use of Alcohol or Drugs	1-4
Index	1-10

Please ensure that everyone on your distribution list receives a copy. If you have any questions, please contact Michelle Garton at mgarton@admin.nv.gov or (775) 684-0136.

PL:mg/cl