

DEPARTMENT OF PERSONNEL 209 East Musser Street, Room 101 Carson City, Nevada 89701-4204 (775) 684-0150 http://dop.nv.gov

## MEMO PERD #48-09 August 24, 2009

TO: Department Directors

Division Administrators Agency Personnel Liaisons

Agency Personnel Representatives Designees for Rules Distribution

FROM: Teresa J. Thienhaus, Director

Department of Personnel

SUBJECT: AB 243 – PARENTAL LEAVE

Just in time for the beginning of the traditional school year, AB 243 of the 2009 Legislative Session has gone into effect. The purpose of this statute is to grant 4 hours of unpaid leave (a.k.a. parental leave), per school year to a parent, guardian or custodian of a child enrolled in public school or private school to:

- Attend parent-teacher conferences;
- Attend school-related activities during regular school hours;
- Volunteer or otherwise be involved at the school in which his child is enrolled during regular school hours; and

SereSphienhaus

• Attend school-sponsored events.

While not specifically stated in the statute, it appears that the legislative intent was to grant parental leave to the parent, guardian or custodian for each of his or her children enrolled in elementary or secondary schools. It also does not limit the leave to one parent if the same employer employs both parents.

When requested, the parental leave must be at a time mutually agreed upon by the employer and the employee and taken in increments of at least 1 hour. An employer may require an employee to provide a written request for the leave at least 5 school days before the leave is taken. Additionally, an employer may require an employee who takes parental leave to provide

documentation that during the time of the leave, the employee attended or was otherwise involved at the school or school-related activity.

The bill also makes it unlawful for an employer to suspend, demote or terminate an employee or threaten to do so or otherwise discriminate against a person who exercises his or her rights under this statute. A person who is discharged from employment or who is demoted, suspended or otherwise discriminated against in violation of this statute may file a claim or complaint with the Labor Commissioner. Additionally, permanent employees in the classified service may use the remedies available to them in NRS and NAC 284 including filing a grievance or appeal with a Hearings Officer, as appropriate.

Employees will use the "LWOP" code on their timesheets when taking leave in accordance with this statute. Please be advised that this does not prevent a supervisor from granting annual leave, comp-time, or allowing for a flexible work schedule in order for a parent, guardian or custodian of a child to participate in school conferences, activities and events.

You may view the full text of the bill on the Nevada Legislature's website at: <a href="http://leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Bills/AB/AB243">http://leg.state.nv.us/75th2009/Bills/AB/AB243</a> EN.pdf. If you have additional questions, you may contact Carrie Hughes at <a href="mailto:cphughes@dop.nv.gov">cphughes@dop.nv.gov</a> or (775) 684-0111.