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 2.  For the purposes of NRS 629.051, 629.061, 629.065 and 629.077, the term includes a 

facility that maintains the health care records of patients. 

 3.  For the purposes of NRS 629.400 to 629.490, inclusive, the term includes: 

 (a) A person who holds a license or certificate issued pursuant to chapter 631 of NRS; and 

 (b) A person who holds a current license or certificate to practice his or her respective 

discipline pursuant to the applicable provisions of law of another state or territory of the United 

States.” 

 

 NAC 284.52375  “Provider of health care” defined. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345)  
“Provider of health care” means: 

 1.  A doctor of medicine or osteopathy who is authorized to practice medicine or surgery by 

the state or country in which the doctor practices. 

 2.  A podiatric physician, a dentist, a clinical psychologist, an optometrist or a chiropractor 

who is authorized to practice as a podiatric physician, a dentist, a clinical psychologist, an 

optometrist or a chiropractor by the state or country in which he or she practices and who is 

performing within the scope of his or her practice as defined by the law of that state or country. 

 3.  A nurse practitioner, nurse midwife, physician assistant or clinical social worker who is 

authorized to practice as a nurse practitioner, nurse midwife, physician assistant or clinical social 

worker by the state or country in which he or she practices and who is performing within the scope 

of his or her practice as defined by the law of that state or country. 

 4.  A practitioner in Christian Science who is listed with The First Church of Christ, Scientist, 

in Boston, Massachusetts. The list of practitioners may be obtained from the Christian Science 

Committee on Publication for Nevada, 2994 Talbot Street, Las Vegas, Nevada 89169, by telephone 

at (702) 807-8026, by electronic mail at nevada@compub.org or on the online directory located at 

www.christianscience.com. 

 5.  A provider of health care, as defined in NRS 629.031, acting within the scope of his or her 

license whose certification of the existence of a serious health condition is acceptable to 

substantiate a claim for benefits under the Public Employees’ Benefits Program. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 3-23-94; A 11-16-95; R082-00, 8-2-2000; A by 

Personnel Comm’n by R135-12, 10-4-2013) 

 

 NRS 281.110 states, “State offices to maintain minimum 40-hour workweeks; variable 

schedules for workweek; posting of days and hours of operation. 

 1.  The offices of all state officers, departments, boards, commissions and agencies must 

maintain not less than a 40-hour workweek. 
 2.  Variable workweek scheduling may be required in those agencies where coverage is 
needed on Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays or on other days or during other hours, as 
necessary. 
 3.  The offices of all state officers, departments, boards, commissions and agencies must 
physically post the days and hours of operation at the office. If the days or hours of operation 
for the office change, the new days and hours of operation must be: 
 (a) Posted physically at the office; 
 (b) Posted on the website of the office, if any; or 
 (c) Otherwise noticed publicly, 
 at least 30 days before the change becomes effective.” 

  

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-629.html#NRS629Sec051
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-629.html#NRS629Sec061
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-629.html#NRS629Sec065
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-629.html#NRS629Sec077
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-629.html#NRS629Sec400
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-629.html#NRS629Sec490
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-631.html#NRS631
mailto:nevada@compub.org




http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-284.html#NRS284Sec345
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converted to the amount of annual leave and sick leave that would have been accrued as an 

exception employee. 

 5.  For the purposes of this section, a firefighter is an exception employee and shall be deemed 

to work an average of 56 hours per week and 2,912 hours per year. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, 9-13-91, eff. 10-1-91; A 3-1-96) 

 

 NAC 284.542  Sick leave:  Part-time employees. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 

284.355) 

 1.  A part-time employee is entitled to accrue sick leave at the rate of 1 1/4 days per month, 

which is prorated based on the number of hours the employee is in paid status, excluding overtime. 

 2.  An employee who holds two or more part-time positions in the state service may combine 

the time in all positions for the purpose of computing the hours of accrued sick leave. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § D subsec. 2, eff. 8-11-73; A and renumbered as subsec. 1, 2-5-82; 

§ D subsec. 3, eff. 2-5-82]—(NAC A by Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-29-2005) 

 

 NRS 281.390 “Sick leave of public employees:  Election of benefits; amount limited 
when eligible for benefits for industrial or occupational disease.” may be found preceding 
NAC 284.5385 
 
 NRS 287.0445 states, “Payment of premiums or contributions for state officer or 
employee injured in course of employment while member of Program.  The participating 
state agency which employed a state officer or employee who: 
 1.  Was injured in the course of that employment; 
 2.  Receives compensation for a temporary total disability pursuant to NRS 616C.475; and 
 3.  Was a member of the Program at the time of the injury, 
 shall pay the State’s share of the cost of the premiums or contributions for the Program for 
that officer or employee for not more than 9 months after the injury or until the officer or 
employee is able to return to work, whichever is less. If the previous injury recurs within 1 
month after the employee returns to work and the employee again receives compensation 
pursuant to NRS 616C.475 as a result of the previous injury, the participating state agency shall 
not, except as otherwise provided in this section, pay the State’s share of the cost of the 
premiums or contributions for the period during which the employee is unable to work as a result 
of the recurring previous injury. If the initial period of disability was less than 9 months, the 
participating state agency shall pay, during the recurrence, the State’s share of the costs of the 
premiums or contributions for a period which, when added to the initial period, equals not more 
than 9 months.” 

 

 NAC 284.544  Sick leave:  Leave without pay; catastrophic leave; receipt of benefits for 

temporary total disability; computation. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.355) 

 1.  Except as otherwise provided in NAC 284.580, an employee does not accrue sick leave 

during the time he or she is on leave without pay or on catastrophic leave. 

 2.  A person who is receiving benefits for a temporary total disability pursuant to chapters 

616A to 616D, inclusive, or 617 of NRS and: 

 (a) Makes the election provided in subsection 1 or 3 of NRS 281.390 is entitled to accrue sick 

leave during the period he or she is receiving those benefits and is being paid an amount of sick 

leave equal to the difference between his or her normal pay and the benefits received. 

 (b) Makes the election provided in subsection 5 of NRS 281.390 must be placed on leave of 

absence without pay, unless the employee elects to use his or her accrued annual leave. 
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 3.  An employee who does not have enough sick leave to make up the difference between his 

or her normal pay and the benefits for temporary total disability must be placed on leave of absence 

without pay for the time he or she is receiving such benefits and the balance of time not covered 

by paid leave. The employee accrues sick leave only for the time he or she is in paid status, 

excluding overtime. 

 4.  To compute the amount of sick leave to which an employee is entitled, an employee must 

be considered to work not more than 40 hours each week. If an employee occupies more than one 

position in different departments, the amount of sick leave to which the employee is entitled must 

be computed based on not more than 40 hours each week in each position. 

 5.  The basis for the computation of the amount of sick leave to which an exempt classified 

employee or exempt unclassified employee is entitled must not exceed the number of hours 

authorized in the biennial operating budget of this State for his or her position. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 12-17-87; A 7-14-88; 7-21-89; 8-1-91; 9-16-92; 11-

12-93; 3-23-94; 7-1-94; 11-16-95; R147-01, 1-22-2002; A by Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-

29-2005) 

 

 NAC 284.546  Sick leave:  Unused credit; special sick leave. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 

284.345, 284.355)  Unused sick leave accrued but not carried forward pursuant to the provisions 

of NRS 284.355 must be placed in a separate account.  Sick leave accrued in a separate account 

pursuant to this section is designated as special sick leave.  Special sick leave may be used if an 

employee has used all the sick leave otherwise available to him or her and meets the conditions, 

as applicable, of NAC 284.554, 284.566 and 284.568. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § D subsec. 3, eff. 8-11-73; A and renumbered as subsec. 2, 2-5-

82]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 10-26-84; 8-22-86; 11-16-95; A by Personnel Comm’n by 

R145-05, 12-29-2005) 

 

 NAC 284.548  Sick leave:  Reinstatement of dismissed employee. (NRS 284.065, 

284.155, 284.175, 284.345, 284.355)  An employee who is dismissed and later reinstated by an 

order of a hearing officer must repay any money the employee received for payment of sick leave 

benefits. The amount of the payment may be deducted from the first available wage payments or 

any back pay owed to the employee. After the money is fully repaid pursuant to this section, the 

balance of the amount of sick leave that the employee had before he or she was dismissed must be 

restored to the employee. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 4-20-90; A by Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-

29-2005) 

 

 NAC 284.550  Sick leave:  Separation from service. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 

284.355) 

 1.  An employee who is being separated from service earns sick leave only through the last 

working day for which he or she is entitled to pay. If the last working day occurs earlier than the 

last day of the month, the sick leave must be prorated. 

 2.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 1 of NAC 284.551, an employee who is rehired 

is not entitled to the restoration of accrued and unused sick leave which remains in his or her 

account at the time of his or her separation. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § D subsec. 5, eff. 8-11-73; A and renumbered as subsec. 4, 2-5-82; 

Rule VII § D subsec. 5, eff. 2-5-82]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 10-26-84; 4-19-88; 7-14-

88) 
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 NAC 284.551  Sick leave:  Credit upon rehiring, reemployment or transfer. (NRS 

284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.355) 

 1.  An employee who is rehired within 1 year after he or she is laid off is entitled to the 

restoration of the accrued and unused sick leave remaining in his or her account at the time of the 

layoff. 

 2.  The balance of a seasonal employee’s sick leave must be restored to him or her for each 

subsequent term of appointment if the employee is rehired within 1 year after the date of his or her 

last seasonal separation. 

 3.  An employee who is reemployed within 1 year after sustaining a permanent disability 

arising from a work-related injury or occupational disease as determined pursuant to NAC 

284.6013 is entitled to restoration of the accrued and unused sick leave that remained in his or her 

account at the time of separation. 

 4.  If an employee is appointed without a break in service from a position under one appointing 

authority to a position under another appointing authority, the balance of his or her sick leave is 

charged to the agency to which he or she is appointed. 

 5.  If a nonclassified employee, an unclassified employee of the Nevada System of Higher 

Education or an employee covered by NRS 284.022 is appointed to the classified or unclassified 

service without a break in service, his or her sick leave must be recomputed to reflect the amount 

that would have accrued to him or her as a classified or unclassified employee less any sick leave 

which he or she used during his or her nonclassified, Nevada System of Higher Education or 

governmental agency employment and the remaining balance will be transferred to the new 

appointment. If the amount of sick leave which is recomputed pursuant to this subsection results 

in a negative amount, the employee will begin the new appointment in the classified or unclassified 

service without any hours of sick leave. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 10-26-84; A 4-19-88; 3-1-96; A by Personnel 

Comm’n by R142-05 & R145-05, 12-29-2005) 

 

 NAC 284.552  Sick leave:  Service in provisional, emergency or temporary status; 

seasonal employees. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.355) 

 1.  Service in provisional, emergency or temporary status, including, without limitation, 

temporary limited appointments pursuant to NRS 284.327 of persons with disabilities who are 

certified by the Rehabilitation Division of the Department of Employment, Training and 

Rehabilitation and service provided by an employee who has a work-related injury or occupational 

disease pursuant to a temporary assignment as set forth in NAC 284.6004, must be credited 

towards sick leave. 

 2.  Service in a special position which is temporary in the Nevada System of Higher Education 

may be credited towards sick leave if it is immediately followed by probationary or permanent 

status. 

 3.  An employee in a seasonal position must be credited with sick leave. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 10-26-84; A 7-6-92; A by Personnel Comm’n by 

R145-05, 12-29-2005) 

 

INFORMATIONAL NOTE:  29 C.F.R. § 785.43 states, “Medical attention.  Time spent 
by an employee in waiting for and receiving medical attention on the premises or at the direction 
of the employer during the employee’s normal working hours on days when he is working 
constitutes hours worked.” 
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 NAC 284.554  Sick leave:  Authorized use. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.355)   

An employee is entitled to use sick leave if the employee: 

 1.  Is unable to perform the duties of his or her position because he or she is sick, injured or 

physically incapacitated due to a medical condition; 

 2.  Is physically incapacitated due to pregnancy or childbirth and is therefore unable to  

perform the duties of the employee’s position; 

 3.  Is quarantined; 

 4.  Is receiving required medical, psychological, optometric or dental service or examination; 

 5.  Is receiving counseling through an employee assistance program for a condition which 

would otherwise qualify pursuant to the provisions of this section; or 

 6.  Has an illness, death or other authorized medical need in his or her immediate family and 

he or she complies with the requirements of NAC 284.558 or 284.562. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § D part subsec. 6, eff. 8-11-73; A 2-5-82]—(NAC A by Dep’t of 

Personnel, 10-26-84; 4-20-90; 11-16-95; A by Personnel Comm’n by R141-07, 1-30-2008) 

 

 NAC 284.558  Sick leave:  Illness in employee’s immediate family. (NRS 284.065, 

284.155, 284.345, 284.355) 
 1.  Except as otherwise provided in this section, if an employee is needed to provide care for 

a member of his or her immediate family with an illness or other authorized medical need, the 

employee may use his or her accumulated sick leave, not to exceed 120 hours in any 1 calendar 

year. An employee is not subject to this 120-hour limitation if the leave is approved under the 

Family and Medical Leave Act. 

 2.  The appointing authority may approve an exception to the 120-hour limitation or the 

requirement that the immediate family member be living in the employee’s household. To obtain 

an exception, the employee must submit a request in writing to the appointing authority, 

accompanied by a certification from a provider of health care that substantiates the need for the 

employee’s participation. 

 3.  The appointing authority may require the employee to submit supplemental information 

which includes a second and third medical opinion as provided in subsection 2 of NAC 284.566. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § D part subsec. 6, eff. 8-11-73; A and renumbered as subsec. 7, 2-

5-82]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 10-26-84; 3-23-94; 11-16-95; R082-00, 8-2-2000; A by 

Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-29-2005) 

 

 NAC 284.562  Sick leave or catastrophic leave:  Death in employee’s immediate  family. 

(NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.355, 284.3626) 

 1.  If a member of the employee’s immediate family dies, he or she may use his or her 

accumulated sick leave, or request approval for catastrophic leave pursuant to NAC 284.576, not 

to exceed 5 working days for each death. 

 2.  For the purposes of this section, “immediate family” means the employee’s parents, spouse, 

children, brothers, sisters, grandparents, great-grandparents, uncles, aunts, nephews, 

grandchildren, nieces, great-grandchildren, father-in-law, mother-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-

law, grandfather-in-law, grandmother-in-law, great-grandfather-in-law, great-grandmother-in-

law, uncle-in-law, aunt-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, grandson-in-law, grand-daughter-in-

law, nephew-in-law, niece-in-law, great-grandson-in-law, great-granddaughter-in-law, 

stepparents and stepchildren. 

 3.  If a reasonable amount of additional time is needed for traveling related to funeral 
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arrangements, the appointing authority shall approve an exception to this limitation. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § D part subsec. 6, eff. 8-11-73; A and renumbered as subsec. 8, 2-

5-82]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 10-26-84; 11-16-95) 

 

 NAC 284.566  Sick leave:  Approval by appointing authority; medical certification. 

(NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.355) 

 1.  An appointing authority may approve sick leave only after having ascertained that the 

absence was for an authorized reason. For absences in excess of 3 consecutive working days, or 

for cases of suspected abuse, the appointing authority may require that the employee submit 

substantiating evidence, which may include, but is not limited to, a certificate from a provider of 

health care of the need for the absence. 

 2.  For absences for which medical certification is required, the appointing authority may 

require the employee to provide a second medical opinion. If a second medical opinion is required, 

an employee shall obtain the opinion from a provider of health care designated by the appointing 

authority.  The employing agency shall pay for the consultation.  The provider of health care who 

provides the second opinion of an employee’s health condition shall certify as to the ability of the 

employee to perform his or her duties and responsibilities and when he or she believes the 

employee can return to work. The provider of health care who provides the second opinion of an 

immediate family member’s health condition shall certify as to the health condition of the family 

member, the probable duration of the health condition and incapacity, and the need for the 

employee’s assistance or presence. A copy of each opinion must be provided to the employee, the 

patient and the appointing authority, as appropriate. If the first and second opinions differ, the 

appointing authority may require the employee to provide a third medical opinion. 

 3.  If a third medical opinion is required, an employee shall obtain the opinion from a provider 

of health care approved jointly by the employee and the appointing authority. If necessary, a list 

of three providers of health care from which the selection must be made may be requested from 

the medical society of the county in which the employee or, if applicable, the member of his or her 

immediate family, resides or works. If such a list is used, the selection of the third provider of 

health care must be made by the employee and appointing authority alternately striking one name 

off the list. The third opinion is final and binding. The employing agency shall pay for the 

consultation. 

 4.  An employee shall request sick leave at least 30 days in advance if the need for leave is 

foreseeable and the sick leave is to be taken in conjunction with a planned leave of absence without 

pay. 

 5.  An appointing authority may require a statement from a provider of health care that an 

employee is able to resume work if the requirement is related to the employee’s ability to perform 

one or more of the essential functions of his or her position. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § D subsec. 8, eff. 8-11-73; A and renumbered as subsec. 9, 2-5-

82]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 10-26-84; 3-23-94; 11-16-95; R082-00, 8-2-2000; A by 

Personnel Comm’n by R135-12, 10-4-2013) 

 

 NAC 284.568  Sick leave:  Placing employee on sick leave; conditions for return to work. 

(NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.355) 

 1.  An appointing authority may place an employee on sick leave if: 

 (a) Due to a known or suspected illness or injury, the employee is not performing at the level 

required by his or her position or is not able to perform the essential functions of the position with 

or without reasonable accommodation, as determined by the appointing authority pursuant to NAC 

284.441; or 
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 (b) The illness appears to be contagious. 

 2.  If the appointing authority places the employee on sick leave pursuant to subsection 1, the 

appointing authority may require the employee, before the employee may return to work, to 

provide documentation from a provider of health care which verifies that the employee is medically 

able to perform the essential functions of the job with or without reasonable accommodation and 

does not have a contagious illness. 

 3.  Except as otherwise provided in NRS 281.390, the appointing authority may require an 

eligible employee to use sick leave during the time family and medical leave is granted. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 10-26-84; A 7-6-92; 3-23-94; R082-00, 8-2-2000; 

A by Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-29-2005; R135-12, 10-4-2013) 

 

 NRS 284.362 states, “Catastrophic leave:  Definitions.  
 1.  As used in NRS 284.362 to 284.3629, inclusive: 
 (a) “Catastrophe” means: 
  (1) The employee is unable to perform the duties of the employee’s position because of a 
serious illness, accident or motor vehicle crash which is life threatening or which will require a 
lengthy convalescence; 
  (2) There is a serious illness, accident or motor vehicle crash which is life threatening or 
which will require a lengthy convalescence in the employee’s immediate family; or 
  (3) There is a death in the employee’s immediate family. 
 (b) “Committee” means the Committee on Catastrophic Leave created pursuant to NRS 
284.3627. 
 2.  The Commission shall adopt regulations further defining “catastrophe” to ensure that the 
term is limited to serious calamities.” 
 
 NRS 284.3621 states, “Catastrophic leave:  Account for catastrophic leave; transfer of 
hours to account; limitations on transfers; transfers between branches of government. 
 1.  Each appointing authority may establish an account for catastrophic leave. 
 2.  An employee of an appointing authority may request, in writing, that a specified number 
of hours of the employee’s accrued annual or sick leave be transferred from the employee’s 
account to the account for catastrophic leave. 
 3.  An employee may not transfer to the account for catastrophic leave any hours of sick 
leave if the balance in the employee’s account after the transfer is less than 240 hours. 
 4.  The maximum number of hours which may be transferred by an employee in any 1   
calendar year is 120. The minimum number of hours which may be transferred in any 1 calendar 
year is 8. 
 5.  An employee may transfer hours to any such account for catastrophic leave for use by a 
particular employee in any branch of State Government who is eligible to receive them.   A 
record of the source and number of hours of leave transferred among different appointing 
authorities for this purpose and the date of the transfer must be maintained by each appointing 
authority. Leave transferred in excess of the amount approved for use by a particular employee 
must be returned to the employee’s account from which it originated.  The Commission shall, 
by regulation, determine the procedure to return excess leave. 
 6.  Any hours of annual or sick leave which are transferred from any employee’s account to 
the account for catastrophic leave and not designated for use by a particular employee may not  
be returned or restored to the originating employee.  This subsection does not prevent the 
employee from receiving leave pursuant to NRS 284.3622.” 



ATTENDANCE AND LEAVES  Page | I - 19 
 

Revision #5, 11/2/16 

 NRS 284.3622 states, “Catastrophic leave:  Request for transfer to employee of hours 
from account for catastrophic leave.  
 1.  An employee of an appointing authority may request, in writing, that a specified number 
of hours of leave be transferred from the account for catastrophic leave to the employee’s 
account. The maximum number of hours that may be transferred to an employee pursuant to this 
section is 1,040 in any 1 calendar year. 
 2.  The request must include: 
 (a) The employee’s name, title and classification; and 
 (b) A description of the catastrophe and the expected duration of leave required for that 
catastrophe. 
 3.  An employee may not receive any leave from the account for catastrophic leave until the 
employee has used all the employee’s accrued annual, sick and compensatory leave. 
 4.  An employee who receives leave from the account for catastrophic leave is entitled to 
payment for that leave at a rate no greater than the employee’s own rate of pay.” 
 
 NRS 284.3623 states, “Catastrophic leave:  Approval of transfer of hours to employee. 
The appointing authority may approve the transfer of a specified number of hours of leave from 
the account for catastrophic leave to the account of any employee who the appointing authority 
determines is eligible to receive such leave.” 
 
 NRS 284.3624 states, “Catastrophic leave:  Review of status of employee regarding 
catastrophe; termination of leave; disposition of hours not used. 
 1.  The appointing authority shall review the status of the employee regarding the 
catastrophe and determine when the need to take leave for the catastrophe no longer exists. 
 2.  The appointing authority shall not grant any hours of leave from the account for 
catastrophic leave after: 
 (a) The need to take leave for the catastrophe ceases to exist; or 
 (b) The employee who is receiving the leave resigns or the employment of the employee with 
the appointing authority is terminated.  
 3.  Any leave which the employee received from the account for catastrophic leave which 
was not used at the time the need to take leave for the catastrophe ceases to exist or upon the 
resignation or termination of the employment of the employee must be returned to the account 
for catastrophic leave.” 
 
 NRS 284.3625 states, “Catastrophic leave:  Maintenance of records; reports to 
Administrator.  Each appointing authority shall maintain records and report to the 
Administrator any information concerning the use of an account for catastrophic leave to 
evaluate the effectiveness, feasibility and cost to carry out the provisions of NRS 284.362 to 
284.3629, inclusive.” 
 
 NRS 284.3626 states, “Catastrophic leave:  Regulations of Commission.  The 
Commission shall adopt regulations to carry out the provisions of NRS 284.362 to 284.3629, 
inclusive.” 
 
 NRS 284.3628 states, “Committee on Catastrophic Leave:  Chair and Vice Chair; 
quorum; rules; hearings; Secretary. 
 1.  The members of the Committee shall elect a Chair and Vice Chair from among their 
members. After the initial election, the Chair and Vice Chair serve in the office for a term of 1 
year beginning on July 1 of each year. If a vacancy occurs in the office of Chair or Vice Chair, 
the members of the Committee shall elect a Chair or Vice Chair from among their members to 
serve for the remainder of the unexpired term. 
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 2.  Any three members of the Committee constitute a quorum, and a majority vote of the 
quorum is required to take action with respect to any matter. 
 3.  The Committee shall adopt: 
 (a) Rules for its own management; and 
 (b) Such rules of practice and procedure as are necessary to carry out its duties. 
 4.  The Committee shall hold such hearings as are necessary to carry out the provisions of 
NRS 284.3629. 
 5.  The Administrator or the designee of the Administrator shall act as the nonvoting 
recording Secretary of the Committee.” 
 
 NRS 284.3629 states, “Committee on Catastrophic Leave:  Appeal of decision of 
appointing authority; procedure; representation of employee; finality of decision; 
inapplicability of Open Meeting Law. 
 1.  An employee aggrieved by any decision of an appointing authority made pursuant to 
NRS 284.362 to 284.3629, inclusive, may appeal from the decision by filing a written notice of 
appeal with the Committee within 10 days after the date of the decision. 
 2.  The Committee shall: 
 (a) Within 5 days after receiving a notice of appeal, schedule a hearing on the merits of the 
appeal for a date not later than 20 days after its receipt of the notice. 
 (b) Cause notice of the date and time of the hearing to be given to the employee and the 
appointing authority by mail or by personal service. 
 (c) Conduct the hearing expeditiously and informally. Technical rules of evidence do not 
apply at the hearing. 
 3.  The employee may file a written request with the Committee to give preference in 
scheduling the hearing. The request must set forth facts showing that the seriousness of the 
alleged catastrophe requires an expedited appeal. 
 4.  The employee may represent himself or herself at the hearing or be represented by an 
attorney or other person of the employee’s own choosing. 
 5.  The Committee shall: 
 (a) Render a decision in writing within 10 days after the hearing, setting forth the reasons 
therefor. 
 (b) Cause notice of the decision to be given to the employee and the appointing authority by 
mail or by personal service. 
 6.  The decision of the Committee is final and is not subject to judicial review or the 
procedure for the adjustment of grievances pursuant to NRS 284.384. 
 7.  A meeting or hearing held by the Committee to carry out the provisions of this section 
and the Committee’s deliberations on the information or evidence received are not subject to 
any provision of chapter 241 of NRS.” 

 

 NAC 284.575  Catastrophic leave:  Interpretation of certain statutory terms. (NRS 

284.065, 284.155, 284.362, 284.3626)  As used in NRS 284.362: 

 1.  “Lengthy convalescence” means a period of disability which an attending physician expects 

to exceed 10 consecutive weeks. 

 2.  “Life threatening” means a condition which is diagnosed by a physician as creating a 

substantial risk of death. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 8-14-90; A by R146-01, 1-18-2002) 
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 NAC 284.576  Catastrophic leave:  Use and administration; appeal of denial. (NRS 

284.065, 284.155, 284.3621, 284.3626) 

 1.  An account for catastrophic leave may be established for an employee when he or she or a 

member of his or her immediate family experiences a catastrophe and the employee has used all 

of his or her accrued leave. 

 2.  An employee who is affected by a catastrophe and has used or is about to use all of his or 

her leave may request, on the appropriate form, the transfer of leave to an account for catastrophic 

leave for his or her personal use after the balance of all of his or her leave has been used. Such a 

request must be accompanied by a statement from a physician on a form provided by the 

Committee on Catastrophic Leave created pursuant to NRS 284.3627 which substantiates the 

necessity of the leave. 

 3.  When a member of the immediate family of an employee is affected by a catastrophe, the 

appointing authority of the employee may require substantiating evidence that the member of the 

immediate family requires the employee’s attendance before approving the transfer of leave to an 

account for catastrophic leave for use by the employee. Such evidence may include a statement by 

an attending physician regarding the status of the catastrophe. 

 4.  The appointing authority shall approve or deny a request for catastrophic leave, taking into 

consideration the nature of the catastrophe and the expected duration of the leave. The decision of 

the appointing authority may be appealed to the Committee on Catastrophic Leave pursuant to 

NRS 284.3629. 

 5.  An employee who wishes to donate hours to an account for catastrophic leave for use by 

another employee who has been approved to receive the donated hours shall notify his or her 

appointing authority on the appropriate form of his or her intent to donate the leave. The appointing 

authority of the employee donating the leave shall submit a copy of the form to the appointing 

authority of the employee receiving the leave. The appointing authority of the recipient shall use 

the notice to effect a transfer of leave from the account of the donor to the account of the recipient 

when the recipient needs to use those hours. If more than one notice of intent to donate leave is 

received by the recipient’s appointing authority on behalf of the recipient, the notices must be 

maintained in chronological order and used, one at a time as needed, according to the date in which 

they were received. 

 6.  A donor and his or her appointing authority must be notified on the appropriate form when 

the donated leave specifically designated for use by another employee has been used or if the 

amount of leave donated is in excess of the amount approved for use by the recipient. Except as 

otherwise provided in this subsection, excess leave must be restored to the account of the donor 

within 30 working days after the last day on which the recipient was eligible to receive catastrophic 

leave. If the donor is separated from state service before the excess leave is restored pursuant to 

this subsection, the excess leave must be transferred to the account for catastrophic leave of the 

appointing authority of the donor when the donation of leave was made.  

 7.  The appointing authority shall provide the following information on a calendar year basis 

or as requested by the Administrator: 

 (a) Each employee under its authority, identified by a number assigned in accordance with 

subsection 8, donating or using catastrophic leave, his or her grade and rate of pay and the number 

of hours and dollar value of the leave donated, excluding any excess leave restored to the account 

of a donor, pursuant to subsection 6, or used by the employee; and 

 (b) The period and nature of the disability for each employee using catastrophic leave.  

 8.  The appointing authority shall assign numbers to employees for the purposes of subsection 

7 in a sequential order and in such a manner that ensures the confidentiality of the identity of those 

employees. 
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 9.  Hours donated to an account for catastrophic leave must be donated in increments of 8 

hours. 

 10.  As used in this section, “immediate family” has the meaning ascribed to it in NAC 

284.562. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 10-18-89; A 8-14-90; 3-23-94; R146-01, 1-18-2002; 

A by Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-29-2005; R136-12, 10-4-2013) 

 

 NAC 284.577  Catastrophic leave:  Repayment for hours used; receipt of workers’ 

compensation benefits. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.175, 284.345, 284.3626) 

 1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, an employee who has used hours from an 

account for catastrophic leave may voluntarily repay the account for those hours. 

 2.  An employee who is entitled to catastrophic leave and workers’ compensation benefits may 

not receive more than 100 percent of his or her pay for the period of the leave. An employee must 

repay the account for catastrophic leave when the combined benefit of catastrophic leave and 

workers’ compensation exceeds his or her normal rate of pay. 

 3.  The amount required to repay the hours from an account for catastrophic leave must be 

based on the employee’s normal rate of pay at the time he or she used the hours. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 11-16-95; A by Personnel Comm’n by R069-02, 8-

14-2002) 

 

 NRS 284.360 states, “Leave of absence without pay. 
 1.  Any person holding a permanent position in the classified service may be granted a leave 
of absence without pay.  Leave of absence may be granted to any person holding a position in 
the classified service to permit acceptance of an appointive position in the unclassified service.  
Leave of absence must be granted to any person holding a position in the classified service to 
permit acceptance of a position in the Legislative Branch during a regular or special session of 
the Legislature, including a reasonable period before and after the session if the entire period of 
employment in the Legislative Branch is continuous. 
 2.  If a person is granted a leave of absence without pay to permit acceptance of an 
appointive position in the unclassified service or a position in the Legislative Branch, any 
benefits earned while the person is in the: 
 (a) Classified service are retained and must be paid by the employer in the classified service, 
whether or not the person returns to the classified service.  
 (b) Unclassified service or employed by the Legislative Branch are retained and must be paid 
by the appointing authority in the unclassified service or by the Legislative Branch, if the person 
does not return to the classified service, or by the employer in the classified service, if the person 
returns to the classified service. 
 3.  Any person in the unclassified service, except members of the academic staff of the 
Nevada System of Higher Education, may be granted by the appointing authority a leave of 
absence without pay for a period not to exceed 6 months. 
 4.  Officers and members of the faculty of the Nevada System of Higher Education may be 
granted leaves of absence without pay as provided by the regulations prescribed pursuant to 
subsection 2 of NRS 284.345. 
 5.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 6, a person in the classified or unclassified 
service who: 
 (a) Is the natural parent of a child who is less than 6 months old; or 
 (b) Has recently adopted a child, 
 must be granted, upon request, a leave of absence without pay for a period not to exceed 12 
weeks. Such a request by natural parents must be submitted at least 3 months before the date 
upon which the requested leave will begin, unless a shorter notice is approved by the employer. 
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Such a request by adoptive parents must be submitted not fewer than 2 working days after the 
parents receive notice of the approval of the adoption. This subsection does not affect the rights 
of an employee set forth in NRS 284.350 or 284.355. 
 6.  The provisions of subsection 5 are effective only if the Family and Medical Leave Act 
of 1993, 29 U.S.C. §§ 2601 et seq., or a subsequent federal law ceases to provide for a parental 
leave of absence of at least 12 weeks.” 
 
 NRS 281.390 “Sick leave of public employees:  Election of benefits; amount limited 
when eligible for benefits for industrial or occupational disease.” may be found preceding 
NAC 284.5385. 

 

 NAC 284.5775  Temporary total disability:  Use of sick leave, compensatory time, 

annual leave and catastrophic leave; leave of absence without pay. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 

284.345, 284.350, 284.355, 284.3626)  An employee who is receiving benefits for a temporary 

total disability pursuant to chapters 616A to 616D, inclusive, or chapter 617 of NRS may: 

 1.  Elect to receive payment for all or part of the difference between his or her normal pay and 

the benefits received by: 

 (a) Using his or her accrued sick leave as provided in subsection 1 or 3 of NRS 281.390; 

 (b) Using his or her accrued compensatory time; 

 (c) Using his or her accrued annual leave if he or she: 

  (1) Is on family and medical leave for a serious health condition that prevents him or her 

from performing one or more of the essential functions of his or her position; or 

  (2) Elected to use his or her accrued sick leave pursuant to NRS 281.390 and has exhausted 

all of his or her accrued sick leave; or 

 (d) Using catastrophic leave if he or she has exhausted all of his or her accrued annual leave, 

sick leave and compensatory time and his or her request for catastrophic leave has been approved 

pursuant to NAC 284.576; or 

 2.  Elect to be placed on leave of absence without pay in accordance with subsection 5 of NRS 

281.390. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel by R031-98, eff. 4-17-98; A by R082-00, 8-2-2000) 

 

 NRS 616C.475 states, “Amount and duration of compensation; limitations; 

requirements for certification of disability; offer of light-duty employment. 
 1.  Except as otherwise provided in this section, NRS 616C.175 and 616C.390, every 

employee in the employ of an employer, within the provisions of chapters 616A to 616D, 

inclusive, of NRS, who is injured by accident arising out of and in the course of employment, 

or his or her dependents, is entitled to receive for the period of temporary total disability, 66 2/3 

percent of the average monthly wage. 

 2.  Except as otherwise provided in NRS 616B.028 and 616B.029, an injured employee or 

his or her dependents are not entitled to accrue or be paid any benefits for a temporary total 

disability during the time the injured employee is incarcerated. The injured employee or his or 

her dependents are entitled to receive such benefits when the injured employee is released from 

incarceration if the injured employee is certified as temporarily totally disabled by a physician 

or chiropractor. 

 3.  If a claim for the period of temporary total disability is allowed, the first payment 

pursuant to this section must be issued by the insurer within 14 working days after receipt of the 

initial certification of disability and regularly thereafter. 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec175
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec390
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616A.html#NRS616A
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616D.html#NRS616D
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616B.html#NRS616BSec028
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616B.html#NRS616BSec029
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 4.  Any increase in compensation and benefits effected by the amendment of subsection 1 is 

not retroactive. 

 5.  Payments for a temporary total disability must cease when: 

 (a) A physician or chiropractor determines that the employee is physically capable of any 

gainful employment for which the employee is suited, after giving consideration to the 

employee’s education, training and experience; 

 (b) The employer offers the employee light-duty employment or employment that is 

modified according to the limitations or restrictions imposed by a physician or chiropractor 

pursuant to subsection 7; or 

 (c) Except as otherwise provided in NRS 616B.028 and 616B.029, the employee is 

incarcerated. 

 6.  Each insurer may, with each check that it issues to an injured employee for a temporary 

total disability, include a form approved by the Division for the injured employee to request 

continued compensation for the temporary total disability. 

 7.  A certification of disability issued by a physician or chiropractor must: 

 (a) Include the period of disability and a description of any physical limitations or restrictions 

imposed upon the work of the employee; 

 (b) Specify whether the limitations or restrictions are permanent or temporary; and 

 (c) Be signed by the treating physician or chiropractor authorized pursuant to NRS 616B.527 

or appropriately chosen pursuant to subsection 3 or 4 of NRS 616C.090. 

 8.  If the certification of disability specifies that the physical limitations or restrictions are 

temporary, the employer of the employee at the time of the employee’s accident may offer 

temporary, light-duty employment to the employee. If the employer makes such an offer, the 

employer shall confirm the offer in writing within 10 days after making the offer. The making, 

acceptance or rejection of an offer of temporary, light-duty employment pursuant to this 

subsection does not affect the eligibility of the employee to receive vocational rehabilitation 

services, including compensation, and does not exempt the employer from complying with NRS 

616C.545 to 616C.575, inclusive, and 616C.590 or the regulations adopted by the Division 

governing vocational rehabilitation services. Any offer of temporary, light-duty employment 

made by the employer must specify a position that: 

 (a) Is substantially similar to the employee’s position at the time of his or her injury in 

relation to the location of the employment and the hours the employee is required to work; 

 (b) Provides a gross wage that is: 

  (1) If the position is in the same classification of employment, equal to the gross wage the 

employee was earning at the time of his or her injury; or 

  (2) If the position is not in the same classification of employment, substantially similar to 

the gross wage the employee was earning at the time of his or her injury; and 

 (c) Has the same employment benefits as the position of the employee at the time of his or 

her injury.” 

 

 NAC 284.5777  Temporary total disability:  Workers’ compensation travel leave to 

receive medical treatment (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.175, 284.345) 

 1.  An appointing authority shall grant leave to an employee in the classified or unclassified 

service of the State to receive medical treatment for a work-related injury or occupational disease 

if the employee: 

 (a) Qualified for benefits for a temporary total disability pursuant to NRS 616C.475; and 

 (b) After returning to work, is required to travel more than 50 miles one way from his or her 

place of employment to receive such medical treatment. 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616B.html#NRS616BSec028
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616B.html#NRS616BSec029
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616B.html#NRS616BSec527
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec090
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec545
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec545
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec575
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec590
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 2.  An appointing authority shall pay an employee who is granted leave pursuant to subsection 

1: 

 (a) If he or she is a nonexempt employee, his or her regular hourly rate of pay for each hour 

that he or she is absent from his or her place of employment for such leave. 

 (b) If he or she is an exempt classified employee or an exempt unclassified employee and is 

absent from his or her place of employment for a full day for such leave, his or her regular rate of 

pay for each such day. 

 3.  Leave granted pursuant to this section must be taken as workers’ compensation travel leave 

and must not be deducted from any sick leave, annual leave, compensatory leave or any other 

personal leave that may be available to the employee. 

 (Added to NAC by Personnel Comm’n by R221-05, eff. 2-23-2006) 

 

 NRS 392.4577 states, “Employer required to grant leave to parent to participate in 

school conferences and other school-related activities; conditions; exception. 
 1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 5, an employer shall grant a parent, guardian 

or custodian of a child who is enrolled in a public school leave from his or her place of 

employment for 4 hours per school year, which must be taken in increments of at least 1 hour, 

to: 

 (a) Attend parent-teacher conferences; 

 (b) Attend school-related activities during regular school hours; 

 (c) Volunteer or otherwise be involved at the school in which his or her child is enrolled 

during regular school hours; and 

 (d) Attend school-sponsored events. 

 The leave must be at a time mutually agreed upon by the employer and the employee. 

 2.  An employer may require: 

 (a) An employee to provide a written request for the leave at least 5 school days before the 

leave is taken; and 

 (b) An employee who takes leave pursuant to this section to provide documentation that 

during the time of the leave, the employee attended or was otherwise involved at the school or 

school-related activity for one of the purposes set forth in subsection 1. 

 3.  An employer is not required to pay an employee for any leave taken pursuant to this 

section. 

 4.  A parent, guardian or custodian must be granted leave in accordance with this section for 

each child of the parent, guardian or custodian who is enrolled in public school. 

 5.  The provisions of this section do not apply if an employee is afforded pursuant to the 

provisions of a collective bargaining agreement: 

 (a) At least 4 hours of leave or more per school year for the purposes set forth in subsection 

1 and subject to the same provisions as subsections 2, 3 and 4; and 

 (b) Substantially similar protections and remedies for violations by the employer as those 

that are set forth in NRS 392.920. 

 6.  As used in this section, “employer” means any person who has 50 or more employees 

for each working day in each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the current calendar year.” 

 

 NRS 392.920 states, “Employer prohibited from threatening or taking retaliatory 

action against parent for parent’s participation in certain school conferences and school-

related activities; penalty; authorization for parent to file claim with Labor Commissioner. 

 1.  It is unlawful for an employer or an agent of the employer to: 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-392.html#NRS392Sec920
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 (a) Terminate the employment of, or to demote, suspend or otherwise discriminate against, 

a person who, as the parent, guardian or custodian of a child: 

  (1) Appears at a conference requested by an administrator of the school attended by the 

child; 

  (2) Is notified during his or her work by a school employee of an emergency regarding 

the child; or 

  (3) Takes leave pursuant to NRS 392.4577 if the employer is subject to the requirements 

of that section; or 

 (b) Assert to the person that his or her appearance or prospective appearance at such a 

conference, the receipt of such a notification during his or her work or leave taken pursuant to 

NRS 392.4577 will result in the termination of his or her employment or a demotion, suspension 

or other discrimination in the terms and conditions of the person’s employment. 

 2.  Any person who violates the provisions of subsection 1 is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

 3.  A person who is discharged from employment or who is demoted, suspended or 

otherwise discriminated against in violation of subsection 1 may file a claim or complaint with 

the Labor Commissioner. The employer shall provide the person who is discharged from 

employment or who is demoted, suspended or otherwise discriminated against with all the forms 

necessary to request such a claim or complaint. If the Labor Commissioner determines that the 

claim or complaint is valid and enforceable, the Labor Commissioner shall provide notice and 

opportunity for a hearing pursuant to NRS 607.205 to 607.215, inclusive. 

 4.  If the Labor Commissioner issues a written decision in favor of the employee, the Labor 

Commissioner may award in addition to any remedies and penalties provided in chapters 607 

and 608 of NRS: 

 (a) Wages and benefits lost as a result of the violation; 

 (b) An order of reinstatement without loss of position, seniority or benefits; and 

 (c) Damages equal to the amount of the lost wages and benefits.” 

 

 NRS 394.179 states, “Parental involvement:  Employer required to grant leave to 

parent to participate in school conferences and other school-related activities; conditions; 

exception. 
 1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 5, an employer shall grant a parent, guardian 

or custodian of a child who is enrolled in a private school leave from his or her place of 

employment for 4 hours per school year, which must be taken in increments of at least 1 hour, 

to: 

 (a) Attend parent-teacher conferences; 

 (b) Attend school-related activities during regular school hours; 

 (c) Volunteer or otherwise be involved at the school in which his or her child is enrolled 

during regular school hours; and 

 (d) Attend school-sponsored events. 

 The leave must be at a time mutually agreed upon by the employer and the employee.  

 2.  An employer may require: 

 (a) An employee to provide a written request for the leave at least 5 school days before leave 

is taken; and 

 (b) An employee who takes leave pursuant to this section to provide documentation that 

during the time of the leave, the employee attended or was otherwise involved at the private 

school or school-related activity for one of the purposes set forth in subsection 1. 

 3.  An employer is not required to pay an employee for any leave taken pursuant to this 

section. 
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 4.  A parent, guardian or custodian must be granted leave in accordance with this section for 

each child of the parent, guardian or custodian who is enrolled in private school. 

 5.  The provisions of this section do not apply if an employee is afforded pursuant to the 

provisions of a collective bargaining agreement: 

 (a) At least 4 hours of leave or more per school year for the purposes set forth in subsection 

1 and subject to the same provisions as subsections 2, 3 and 4; and 

 (b) Substantially similar protections and remedies for violations by the employer as those 

that are set forth in NRS 394.1795. 

 6.  As used in this section, “employer” means any person who has 50 or more employees 

for each working day in each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the current calendar year.” 

 

 NAC 284.578  Leave of absence without pay. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.360) 

 1.  Except as otherwise provided in NRS 284.360, an appointing authority may grant a leave 

of absence without pay to an employee for not more than 1 year for any satisfactory reason. 

 2.  The Commission may grant leaves of absence without pay in excess of 1 year for purposes 

deemed beneficial to the public service. 

 3.  An appointing authority may require an employee on leave of absence without pay to 

submit every 2 weeks a statement of his or her intent to return to work. 

 4.  If the reason for granting the leave no longer exists, the appointing authority may revoke 

the leave after notifying the employee in writing and allowing, so far as is practicable, not less than 

5 working days after the date of notification for the employee to return to work. 

 5.  An employee shall request leave without pay at least 30 days in advance of when the need 

for the leave is foreseeable, if practicable. 

 6.  An employee may not use leave without pay in lieu of sick leave or annual leave without 

approval of the appointing authority.  

 7.  An employee who is using leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act may not 

use leave without pay until the employee has exhausted all the accrued sick leave, accrued annual 

leave, accrued compensatory time and catastrophic leave that the employee is eligible to use based 

on the nature of the absence, as required by NAC 284.5811. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § E subsecs. 1-4, eff. 8-11-73]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 10-

26-84; 3-23-94; 10-27-97; A by Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-29-2005; R060-09, 11-25-

2009) 

 

 NAC 284.580  Leave of absence without pay during fiscal emergency of State or agency. 

(NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.175, 284.345, 284.360) 

 1.  Upon the request of an appointing authority, the Department of Administration may 

authorize the appointing authority to place a nonexempt employee on a leave of absence without 

pay for a fiscal emergency of the State or an agency during any period for which the Governor has 

declared that the State or an agency will experience a shortfall in revenue or for any other reason 

is in a state of fiscal emergency. 

 2.  All employees in the same classification must be treated equitably with respect to being 

placed on a leave of absence without pay pursuant to this section unless an employee volunteers 

to be placed on such a leave of absence. 

 3.  The appointing authority shall reduce the pay of an employee who is placed on a leave of 

absence without pay pursuant to subsection 1 by an amount equal to the pay that the employee 

would otherwise receive for the hours for which the leave is approved. 

 4.  The hours for which payment is withheld pursuant to subsection 3: 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-394.html#NRS394Sec1795
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 (a) Must be treated as hours in paid status for the purposes of NAC 284.182, 284.255, 284.448, 

284.538, 284.5385, 284.544 and 284.614. 

 (b) Must not be considered as time worked in calculating overtime. 

 5.  Regardless of whether an employee volunteers to be placed on a leave of absence pursuant 

to subsection 1, after notifying the employee in writing and allowing a reasonable period for the 

employee to return to work, an appointing authority: 

 (a) Shall revoke the placement of any employee on a leave of absence without pay pursuant to 

subsection 1 upon a declaration by the Governor that the fiscal emergency no longer exists. 

 (b) May revoke the placement of any employee on any leave of absence without pay pursuant 

to subsection 1 for any other bona fide reason. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 9-16-92; A 11-12-93; 3-23-94; R147-01, 1-22-2002; 

A by Personnel Comm’n by R096-03, 10-30-2003; R043-15; 12-21-2015) 

 

 NAC 284.581  Adoption by reference of federal law and regulations. (NRS 284.065, 

284.155, 284.345) 

 1.  For the purposes of NAC 284.523 to 284.598, inclusive, the Division of Human Resource 

Management hereby adopts by reference: 

 (a) The Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (Public Law 103-3), as amended. 

 (b) The Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended, and 29 C.F.R. Part 541. 

 2.  A copy of the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Fair Labor Standards Act or 29 C.F.R. 

Part 541 may be obtained at no charge from the United States Government, Wage and Hour 

Division, P.O. Box 3136, Reno, Nevada 89505-3136, telephone (775) 784-5200, or from the 

United States Government, Wage and Hour Division, 1050 Flamingo Road, Suite 321, Las Vegas, 

Nevada 89119, telephone (702) 699-5581. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 3-23-94; A 11-16-95; R082-00, 8-2-2000) 

 

INFORMATIONAL NOTE:  Based on the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (29. C.F.R. 

§ 825.110 (b)(3)), catastrophic leave should be counted when determining the employee’s 12 

months of employment for FMLA eligibility.  However, catastrophic leave is not counted in the 

calculation when determining if the employee has “worked” 1,250 hours in the previous 12 

months.  The hours an employee was in “paid status” (NAC 284.0742) are used to determine the 

hours “worked.” 

 

 NAC 284.5811  Family and medical leave:  Maximum amount in 12-month period; 

eligibility; use. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.350, 284.355, 284.3626) 

 1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, an employee who is entitled to take leave 

pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act is limited to a total of 12 weeks of such leave during 

a rolling 12-month period. The rolling 12-month period is measured backward from the date an 

employee uses any leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act. 

 2.  An employee who is entitled to take leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act 

to care for a covered service member is limited to a total of 26 weeks of such leave during a single 

12-month period. 

 3.  To calculate eligibility for leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act, each hour 

that an employee is in paid status in the 12-month period immediately preceding the leave must be 

considered as time worked. 

 4.  Except as otherwise provided in subsections 5 and 6, an employee who meets the 

requirements for eligibility for and who is taking leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave 

Act must exhaust all the accrued sick leave, accrued annual leave, accrued compensatory time and 
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catastrophic leave that the employee is eligible to use based on the nature of the absence before 

using leave without pay. Any accrued sick leave, accrued annual leave, accrued compensatory 

time, catastrophic leave and holiday pay to which the employee is entitled pursuant to NAC 

284.255 runs concurrently with the leave granted pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act 

if the employee is otherwise eligible for that sick leave, annual leave, compensatory time, 

catastrophic leave or holiday pay. 

 5.  If an employee is absent from work as the result of a work-related injury or illness and 

meets the requirements for eligibility for leave due to a serious health condition pursuant to the 

Family and Medical Leave Act: 

 (a) Any amount of time that the employee is absent from work during that period will be 

designated as leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act; and 

 (b) The employee may elect to use paid leave or leave without pay for the portion of time that 

he or she is not being compensated for the work-related injury or illness. 

 6.  If an employee is absent from work as the result of a non work-related injury or illness, the 

employee is receiving compensation for the injury or illness from a disability benefit plan and the 

employee meets the requirements for eligibility for leave due to a serious health condition pursuant 

to the Family and Medical Leave Act:  

 (a) Any amount of time that the employee is absent from work during that period will be 

designated as leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act; and 

 (b) The employee may use paid leave for the time that the employee is being compensated for 

the non-work related injury or illness if the employee has entered into an agreement with the 

appointing authority to use the paid leave.  If the employee and the appointing authority have not 

entered into such an agreement, the employee may not elect to use and the appointing authority 

may not require the employee to use paid leave for that time.  

 7.  An appointing authority may require an employee to provide medical or other appropriate 

documentation to support his or her need for leave pursuant to the Family and Medical Leave Act. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 3-23-94; A 11-16-95; R082-00, 8-2-2000; A by 

Personnel Comm’n by R096-03, 10-30-2003; R145-05, 12-29-2005; R060-09, 11-25-2009; R021-

13, 10-23-2013) 

 

 NAC 284.5813  Family and medical leave:  Records. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345)  
Each appointing authority shall maintain accurate records of family and medical leave used by its 

employees, including any form approved for requesting family and medical leave. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 3-23-94; A 11-16-95; 3-1-96; R082-00, 8-2-2000)  

 

 NRS 6.190 states, “Terminating or threatening to terminate employment because of 
jury duty prohibited; civil action for unlawful termination; requiring employee to use sick 
leave or vacation time or to work certain hours prohibited; notice to employer; dissuasion 
from service as juror. 
 1.  Any person, corporation, partnership, association or other entity who is: 
 (a) An employer; or 
 (b) The employee, agent or officer of an employer, vested with the power to terminate or 
recommend termination of employment, 
 of a person who is a juror or who has received a summons to appear for jury duty, and who 
deprives the juror or person summoned of his or her employment, as a consequence of the 
person’s service as a juror or prospective juror, or who asserts to the juror or person summoned 
that his or her service as a juror or prospective juror will result in termination of his or her 
employment, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. 
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 2.  A person discharged from employment in violation of subsection 1 may commence a 
civil action against his or her employer and obtain: 
 (a) Wages and benefits lost as a result of the violation; 
 (b) An order of reinstatement without loss of position, seniority or benefits; 
 (c) Damages equal to the amount of the lost wages and benefits; 
 (d) Reasonable attorney’s fees fixed by the court; and 
 (e) Punitive or exemplary damages in an amount not to exceed $50,000. 
 3.  If a person is summoned to appear for jury duty, the employer and any employee, agent 
or officer of the employer shall not, as a consequence of the person’s service as a juror or 
prospective juror: 
 (a) Require the person to use sick leave or vacation time; or 
 (b) Require the person to work: 
  (1) Within 8 hours before the time at which the person is to appear for jury duty; or 
  (2) If the person’s service has lasted for 4 hours or more on the day of his or her 
appearance for jury duty, including the person’s time going to and returning from the place 
where the court is held, between 5 p.m. on the day of his or her appearance for jury duty and 3 
a.m. the following day. 
 Any person who violates the provisions of this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 4.  Each summons to appear for jury duty must be accompanied by a notice to the employer 
of the person summoned. The notice must inform the employer that the person has been 
summoned for jury duty and must include a copy of the provisions of subsections 1, 2 and 3. 
The person summoned, if the person is employed, shall give the notice to his or her employer at 
least 3 days before the person is to appear for jury duty. 
 5.  Except as otherwise provided in this section, any person who in any manner dissuades or 

attempts to dissuade a person who has received a summons to appear for jury duty from serving 

as a juror is guilty of a misdemeanor.” 

 

 NRS 50.070 states, “Termination or threat of termination of employment because of 

service as witness prohibited; penalty; remedies. 
 1.  Any person, corporation, partnership, association or other entity who is: 
 (a) An employer; or 
 (b) The employee, agent or officer of an employer, vested with the power to terminate or 
recommend termination of employment, 
 of a person who is a witness or who has received a summons to appear as a witness in a 
judicial or administrative proceeding, who deprives the witness or person summoned of his or  
her employment, as a consequence of his or her service as a witness or prospective witness, or 
who asserts to the witness or person summoned that his or her service as a witness or prospective 
witness will result in termination of his or her employment, is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 2.  A person discharged from employment in violation of subsection 1 may commence a 
civil action against his or her employer and obtain: 
 (a) Wages and benefits lost as a result of the violation; 
 (b) An order of reinstatement without loss of position, seniority or benefits; 
 (c) Damages equal to the amount of the lost wages and benefits; and 
 (d) Reasonable attorney’s fees fixed by the court.” 

 

 NAC 284.582  Civil leave with pay to serve on jury or as witness. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 

284.175, 284.345)  

 1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, civil leave with pay must be granted to any 

employee who is required, during his or her normal hours of work, to serve: 

 (a) On a jury; or 
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 (b) As a witness in a court or at an administrative hearing if he or she is not a party to the action 

and the action is not related to his or her job. 

 The period of the leave must not be deducted from the balance of the employee’s sick leave or 

annual leave. An employee who is granted the leave must receive his or her regular pay while on 

the leave and may retain any fee paid to him or her for serving as a juror or witness. 

 2.  If an employee, in his or her official capacity as a state employee and as part of his or her 

required duties, serves as a witness during his or her regular working hours, the employee shall 

accept any witness fee offered and relinquish it to the agency by which he or she is employed. 

 3.  If an employee is paid travel expenses and subsistence allowances by the court or public 

agency for which he or she performs service as a witness, the employee may retain that payment 

only if the State has not provided payment for the same purpose. If the State has provided such a 

payment, the employee shall relinquish it to the agency by which he or she is employed. 

 4.  In accordance with NRS 6.190, an agency shall attempt to adjust the working hours of 

employees who work night shifts and are called as witnesses or for jury duty during the day. If an 

agency feels this is impractical, in the case of jury duty, it shall petition the court to excuse the 

juror. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § E subsec. 5, eff. 8-11-73]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 12-13-

83, 10-26-84; 5-27-86; R147-01, 1-22-2002; A by Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-29-2005; 

R203-07, 4-17-2008) 

 

 NRS 293.463 states, “Employees may absent themselves from employment to vote:  
Procedure; penalty. 
 1.  Any registered voter may be absent from his or her place of employment at a time to be 
designated by the employer for a sufficient time to vote, if it is impracticable for the voter to 
vote before or after his or her hours of employment. A sufficient time to vote shall be determined 
as follows: 
 (a) If the distance between the place of such voter’s employment and the polling place where 
such person votes is 2 miles or less, 1 hour. 
 (b) If the distance is more than 2 miles but not more than 10 miles, 2 hours. 
 (c) If the distance is more than 10 miles, 3 hours. 
 2.  Such voter may not, because of such absence, be discharged, disciplined or penalized, 
nor shall any deduction be made from his or her usual salary or wages by reason of such absence. 
 3.  Application for leave of absence to vote shall be made to the employer or person 
authorized to grant such leave prior to the day of the election. 
 4.  Any employer or person authorized to grant the leave of absence provided for in 
subsection 1, who denies any registered voter any right granted under this section, or who 
otherwise violates the provisions of this section, is guilty of a misdemeanor.” 

 

 NAC 284.586  Civil leave with pay to vote. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345)  Civil leave 

with pay must be granted to allow an employee time off to vote subject to the conditions 

established in NRS 293.463. If an employee determines he or she will need time off to vote, he or 

she must submit a request for civil leave with pay to the person authorized to grant such leave 

before the day of the election. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § E subsec. 7, eff. 8-11-73]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 10-26-

84; A by Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-29-2005) 

 

 NRS 281.147 states, “Leave of absence for duty as American National Red Cross 
disaster technician.  Any public officer or employee of the State or any agency thereof, or of 
a political subdivision or an agency of a political subdivision, who is classified by the American  
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National Red Cross as a disaster technician must be relieved from the officer’s or employee’s 

duties, upon the request of the American National Red Cross and the approval of the employer 

of the officer or employee, to assist the American National Red Cross during an emergency or 

disaster described in NRS 414.020 which occurs in this state or California, Oregon, Idaho, Utah 

or Arizona, without loss of the officer’s or employee’s regular compensation for a period of not 

more than 15 working days in any calendar year. No such absence may be a part of the annual 

vacation of the public officer or employee which is provided for by law.” 

 

 NRS 281.149 states, “Leave of absence for duty as emergency communications 

technician. 
 1.  Any public officer or employee of the State or any agency thereof, or of a political 

subdivision or an agency of a political subdivision, who is an emergency communications 

technician must be relieved from the officer’s or employee’s duties, upon the request of the 

Division of Emergency Management of the Department of Public Safety or a local organization 

for emergency management and the approval of the employer of the officer or employee, to 

assist the division or local organization for emergency management during a disaster or 

emergency that occurs in this state, California, Oregon, Idaho, Utah or Arizona, without loss of 

the officer’s or employee’s regular compensation for a period of not more than 15 working days 

in any calendar year. No such absence may be a part of the annual vacation of the public officer 

or employee which is provided for by law. 

 2.  As used in this section: 

 (a) “Disaster” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 414.0335. 

 (b) “Emergency” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 414.0345. 

 (c) “Emergency communications technician” means a person who is: 

  (1) Licensed by the Federal Communications Commission as an amateur radio operator; 

and 

  (2) A member of: 

   (I) The Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Service or a successor organization sponsored 

by the agency of the Federal Government for emergency management; or  

   (II) The Amateur Radio Emergency Service or a successor organization sponsored by 

the American Radio Relay League or its successor. 

 (d) “Local organization for emergency management” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 

414.036.” 

 
 NRS 284.357 states, “Deduction from salary for service during working hours as 
volunteer firefighter, volunteer medical technician, volunteer reserve member of police 
department or sheriff’s office or volunteer ambulance driver or attendant prohibited. 
 1.  All employees, whether in the classified or in the unclassified service of the State of 
Nevada, must be paid their salaries as fixed by law without diminution on account of any time 
spent away from state employment while acting as: 
 (a) Volunteer firefighters of any regular organized and recognized fire department in the 
protection of life or property; 
 (b) Volunteer emergency medical technicians certified pursuant to chapter 450B of NRS; 
 (c) Volunteer reserve members of a police department or a sheriff’s office; or 
 (d) Volunteer ambulance drivers or attendants, 
 during working hours or fractions thereof which should otherwise have been devoted to state 
employment. 
 2.  As used in this section, “volunteer ambulance driver or attendant” means a person who 
is a driver of or attendant on an ambulance owned or operated by: 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-414.html#NRS414Sec0335
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-414.html#NRS414Sec0345
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-414.html#NRS414Sec036
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NRS/NRS-414.html#NRS414Sec036
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 (a) A nonprofit organization that provides volunteer ambulance service in any county, city 
or town in this State; or 
 (b) A political subdivision of this State.” 
 
 NRS 414.070 states in part, “Additional powers of Governor during emergency or 
disaster.  The provisions of this section are operative only during the existence of a state of 
emergency or declaration of disaster. The existence of such an emergency or disaster may be 
proclaimed by the Governor or by resolution of the Legislature if the Governor in his or her 
proclamation, or the Legislature in its resolution, finds that an attack upon the United States has 
occurred or is anticipated in the immediate future, or that a natural, technological or  man-made 
emergency or disaster of major proportions has actually occurred within this State, and that the 
safety and welfare of the inhabitants of this State require an invocation of the provisions of this 
section. Any such emergency or disaster, whether proclaimed by the Governor or by the 
Legislature, terminates upon the proclamation of the termination thereof by the Governor, or the 
passage by the Legislature of a resolution terminating the emergency or disaster...” 

 

 NAC 284.587  Civil leave with pay for certain public officers or employees or when 

absence is necessary to meet state of emergency or declaration of disaster. (NRS 284.065, 

284.155, 284.345)  Civil leave with pay must be granted to an employee who meets the 

requirements of NRS 281.149 or 284.357, and may also be granted by the appointing authority to 

an employee whose absence from the job is necessary to meet a state of emergency or declaration 

of disaster proclaimed by the Governor or by resolution of the Legislature pursuant to NRS 

414.070. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 10-26-84; A by R146-01, 1-18-2002; A by 

Personnel Comm’n by R133-12, 10-4-2013) 

 

 NRS 281.145 states, “Leave of absence for military duty.   
 1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, any public officer or employee of the State 
or any agency thereof, or of a political subdivision or an agency of a political subdivision, who 
is an active member of the United States Army Reserve, the United States Naval Reserve, the 
United States Marine Corps Reserve, the United States Coast Guard Reserve, the United States 
Air Force Reserve or the Nevada National Guard must be relieved from the officer’s or 
employee’s duties, upon the officer’s or employee’s request, to serve under orders including, 
without limitation, orders for training or deployment, without loss of the officer’s or 
employee’s regular compensation for a period of not more than the number of hours equivalent 
to 15 working days in any 12-month period, as prescribed in subsection 3 or 4, as applicable. 
No such absence may be a part of the officer’s or employee’s annual vacation provided for by 
law. 
 2.  In addition to the leave authorized pursuant to subsection 1, any public officer or 

employee of the State or any agency thereof whose work schedule includes Saturday or Sunday 

and who is an active member of the United States Army Reserve, the United States Naval 

Reserve, the United States Marine Corps Reserve, the United States Coast Guard Reserve, the 

United States Air Force Reserve or the Nevada National Guard must be relieved from the 

officer’s or employee’s duties, upon the officer’s or employee’s request, for a period of not more 

than the number of hours equivalent to 24 working days in any 12-month period, as prescribed 

in subsection 3, to serve under orders for training that is scheduled on a Saturday or Sunday, 

including, without limitation, monthly and annual training. No such absence may be a part of 

the officer’s or employee’s annual vacation provided for by law. An officer or employee is not 

entitled to receive his or her regular compensation for any hours in a working day in which 
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the officer or employee serves under orders for training pursuant to this subsection if his or 

her military pay for the service is equal to or exceeds his or her regular compensation for 

those hours. If the officer’s or employee’s military pay does not exceed his or her regular 

compensation for those hours, the officer or employee is entitled to receive, in addition to his 

or her military pay for those hours, the difference between the regular compensation that the 

officer or employee would have otherwise received as an officer or employee and his or her 

military pay for those hours. An officer or employee is not entitled to: 
 (a) Receive any other compensation for which he or she would otherwise be eligible, 
including, without limitation, compensation pursuant to NRS 284.358; or 

 (b) Use any annual leave, compensatory time or other paid leave or any unpaid leave that 

is required as a result of statewide economic conditions, 

 for any hours for which the officer or employee receives compensation pursuant to this 

subsection. 

 3.  The Personnel Commission created by NRS 284.030 shall adopt regulations 

prescribing for each agency of the State the 12-month period during which an officer or 

employee of the agency is eligible to take the number of working days of leave set forth in 

subsections 1 and 2. 

 4.  A political subdivision shall establish the 12-month period during which an officer or 

employee of an agency of the political subdivision or an agency thereof is eligible to take the 

number of working days of leave set forth in subsection 1. 

 5.  As used in this section: 

 (a) “Work schedule” means the working days that an officer or employee is regularly 

assigned to work. The term does not include, without limitation, any temporary change in 

assigned working days unless the change becomes permanent. 

 (b) “Working day” means a period of work consisting of the number of hours that a public 

officer or employee is regularly scheduled to work. The term does not include, without 

limitation, overtime, or any time in which the officer or employee is on standby status or has 

been called back to work during his or her scheduled time off.” 
 

 NRS 284.358 states, “Civil leave with reduced pay when performing active military 

service in time of war or emergency. 
 1.  An officer or employee in the public service who performs active military service in the 

Armed Forces of the United States or any other category of persons designated by the President 

of the United States or the Governor of this State, including, without limitation, the 

Commissioned Corps of the United States Public Health Service, in time of war or emergency 

is entitled to civil leave with reduced pay for the period of such service. 

 2.  The pay that an officer or employee is entitled to receive pursuant to this section is the 

difference between the pay that the officer or employee would have otherwise received as an 

officer or employee and the officer’s or employee’s pay for active military service. If the 

officer’s or employee’s pay for active military service is greater than the pay that the officer or 

employee would have otherwise received as an officer or employee, the officer or employee is 

not entitled to receive any additional pay pursuant to this section while the officer or employee 

performs active military service. 
 3.  As used in this section, “pay for active military service” means the base pay that a person 
receives for active military service as determined by the rank or grade of the person. The term 
does not include any other type of pay that a person may be entitled to receive for active military 
service, including, without limitation, imminent danger pay or family separation allowance.” 
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 NRS 284.359 states, “Military leave of absence; reinstatement.  A permanent or 
probationary employee who performs active military service under the provisions of any 
national military service or training act, or who voluntarily serves in the Armed Forces of the 
United States in time of war, or in such types of service as the Commission by regulation may 
prescribe, is, upon application, entitled to leave of absence without pay for the period of such 
service plus a period not to exceed 90 days. If within that period the employee applies for 
reinstatement, the employee must be reinstated to the employee’s former class of position, or to 
a class of position having like seniority, status and pay, or, if those positions have been 
abolished, to the nearest approximation thereof consistent with the circumstances.” 

 

 NAC 284.5875  Military leave with pay. (NRS 281.145, 284.065, 284.345) 

 1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the 12-month period during which a public 

officer or employee of an agency of the State is eligible to take the number of working days of 

leave set forth in subsection 1 or 2 of NRS 281.145, as amended by section 1 of Assembly Bill 

No. 388, chapter 340, Statutes of Nevada 2015, at page 1914, is a calendar year. 

 2.  The 12-month period during which a public officer or employee of the Office of the 

Military is eligible to take the number of working days of leave set forth in subsection 1 or 2 of 

NRS 281.145, as amended by section 1 of Assembly Bill No. 388, chapter 340, Statutes of 

Nevada 2015, at page 1914, is a federal fiscal year. 
 (Added to NAC by Personnel Comm’n by R138-13, eff. 6-23-14; R039-15, 10-27-15) 

 

 NRS 284.4065  “Screening tests:  General provisions.” may be found preceding NAC 
284.880. 

 

 NAC 284.589  Administrative leave with pay. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345, 284.383, 

284.385, 284.390) 

 1.  An appointing authority may grant administrative leave with pay to an employee: 

 (a) To relieve the employee of his or her duties during the active investigation of a suspected 

criminal violation or the investigation of alleged wrongdoing; 

 (b) For up to 30 days when the appointing authority initiates the leave to obtain the results of 

an examination concerning the ability of the employee to perform the essential functions of his or 

her position; 

 (c) For up to 30 days to remove the employee from the workplace when he or she has 

committed or threatened to commit an act of violence; 

 (d) For up to 2 hours to donate blood; 

 (e) To relieve the employee of his or her duties until the appointing authority receives the 

results of a screening test pursuant to NRS 284.4065, as amended by section 8 of Senate Bill No. 

62, chapter 225, Statutes of Nevada 2015, at page 1049; or 

 (f) To attend a general employee-benefits orientation or an educational session relating to 

employee benefits, including, without limitation, retirement and deferred compensation. 

 2.  The appointing authority, upon approval of the Risk Management Division, may extend 

administrative leave with pay granted to an employee for a purpose set forth in paragraph (b) or 

(c) of subsection 1. 

 3.  If an employee is granted administrative leave with pay pursuant to subsection 1 or 2, the 

employee must be available: 

 (a) By telephone to the supervisor of the employee; and 

 (b) To report to a work site or another location, as directed by the supervisor of  the employee, 

 during regular business hours. 
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 4.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 5, an appointing authority or the Division of 

Human Resource Management may grant administrative leave with pay to an employee for any of 

the following purposes: 

 (a) His or her participation in, or attendance at, activities which are directly or indirectly related 

to the employee’s job or employment with the State but which do not require him or her to 

participate or attend in an official capacity as a state employee. 

 (b) His or her safety during an emergency when employees have been authorized by the 

Governor not to report to work or to leave work before the end of their shifts during the emergency, 

including, without limitation, emergencies relating to enemy attacks or other hostile actions, 

natural causes or other catastrophes, except for employees who are designated as essential and 

notified that they are required to report to work or remain at work. 

 (c) Closure of the employee’s office or work site caused by a natural disaster, pandemic or 

other similar adverse condition when the employee is scheduled and expected to be at work. An 

appointing authority may designate certain employees as essential and notify them that they are 

required to report to work. 

 (d) Closure, as a result of a pandemic, of a school or a center or facility that provides day care 

services which is attended by the employee’s dependent child or the temporary cancellation, as a 

result of a pandemic, of a program attended by the employee’s dependent child. An appointing 

authority may designate certain employees as essential and notify them that they are required to 

report to work. 

 (e) His or her appearance as an aggrieved employee or a witness at a hearing of the Committee. 

 (f) His or her appearance as a witness at a hearing regarding a matter described in 

subparagraph (1), (2) or (3) of paragraph (e) of subsection 6. 
 (g) His or her appearance to provide testimony at a meeting of the Commission. 

 5.  An appointing authority or the Division of Human Resource Management shall grant 

administrative leave with pay to an employee for a purpose set forth in paragraph (e), (f) or (g) of 

subsection 4 if: 

 (a) The employee requests the administrative leave for a period of time that is reasonably 

needed to testify at the hearing or meeting; 

 (b) The employee requests the administrative leave at least 2 weeks before the leave is  needed, 

unless such notice is impractical; and 

 (c) The absence of the employee will not cause an undue hardship to the operations of the 

appointing authority or adversely impact the provision of services to clients or to the public. 

 6.  An appointing authority shall grant administrative leave with pay to an employee for any 

of the following purposes: 

 (a) The initial appointment and one follow-up appointment if the employee receives counseling 

through an employee assistance program, including, without limitation, consultations provided in-

person or telephonically. 

 (b) His or her attendance at a health fair or related event coordinated by the Public Employees’ 

Benefits Program. 

 (c) His or her participation in an official capacity as a member of a committee or board created 

by statute on which he or she serves as a representative of state employees. Such leave must be in 

lieu of other fees provided for attendance at meetings and participation in official functions of the 

committee or board. 

 (d) Up to 8 hours for preparation for any hearing described in paragraph (e).  

 (e) The appearance of the employee as a party at a hearing regarding: 

  (1) An alleged reprisal or retaliatory action against the employee for disclosing an 

improper governmental action as provided in NRS 281.641;  
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  (2) An involuntary transfer of the employee as provided in NRS 284.376; or  
  (3) A suspension, demotion or dismissal of the employee as provided in NRS 284.390 and  

NAC 284.6561. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 10-26-84; A 8-28-85; 4-20-90; A by Personnel 

Comm’n, 8-1-91; A by Dep’t of Personnel, 9-13-91; 12-26-91; 11-12-93; 3-23-94; 11-16-95; 10-

27-97; R042-99, 9-27-99; R058-01, 9-6-2001; A by Personnel Comm’n by R038-03, 10-30-2003; 

R183-03, 1-27-2004; R145-05, 12-29-2005; R141-07, 1-30-2008; R061-09 & R081-09, 10-27-

2009; R063-09, 11-25-2009; R058-10, 10-15-2010; R137-13, 6-23-14; R042-15, 12-21-2015) 

 

 NRS 284.345 states, “Regulations for attendance and leave of absence; personnel of 

Nevada System of Higher Education. 

 1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the Commission shall adopt regulations 

for attendance and leave with or without pay or reduced pay in the various classes of positions 

in the public service. 

 2.  The Board of Regents of the University of Nevada shall adopt regulations for attendance 

and for leave with or without pay or with reduced pay, sabbatical leave, sick leave, emergency 

leave, annual leave, terminal leave, military leave and such other leave as the Board of Regents 

determines to be necessary or desirable for officers and members of the faculty of the Nevada 

System of Higher Education. Sabbatical leave with pay may not be granted to more than 2 

percent of the teaching personnel of a branch or facility of the System with the rank of instructor 

or higher in any 1 year. No sabbatical leave with pay may be granted unless the person requesting 

the leave agrees in writing with the branch or facility to return to the branch or facility after the 

leave for a period not less than that required by the person’s most recent contract of employment 

if the Nevada System of Higher Education desires the person’s continued service.” 

 

 NRS 281.1275 states, “Reduction in salary of certain public officers and employees for 

part-day absence from work prohibited; accounting for part-day absence; exception. 

 1.  Except as permitted by the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, the salary of 

a public officer or employee of the State or any agency thereof, or of a political subdivision or 

any agency thereof, who is not entitled pursuant to federal or state law, local ordinance, or policy 

or contract of employment to earn overtime at the rate of time and one-half, must not be reduced 

for an absence from work for part of a day. 

 2.  The provisions of this section do not apply to an officer or employee of the Legislative 

Branch of Government, except an officer or employee of the legislative library.” 

 

 NAC 284.5895  Accounting for absences of exempt classified and unclassified 

employees. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.345) 

 1.  An absence of an exempt classified employee or exempt unclassified employee for a full 

workday shall be deemed to be an absence for a period equal to his or her regularly scheduled 

hours of employment on that workday. 

 2.  Except when an absence for part of a workday is authorized for family and medical leave, 

an exempt classified employee or exempt unclassified employee must only account for an absence 

of one or more full workdays by the use of leave appropriate to the absence and is not required to 

account for any absence for part of a workday. 

 3.  An exempt classified employee or exempt unclassified employee must not account for an 

absence for a full workday by the use of a combination of accrued sick leave and accrued annual 

leave unless he or she: 

 (a) Is on family and medical leave; or 
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 (b) Has been approved for catastrophic leave and the catastrophic leave is used as a supplement 

for the remaining sick and annual leave. 

 4.  If an exempt classified employee or exempt unclassified employee does not have accrued 

leave appropriate to the absence in an amount sufficient to account for an authorized absence, the 

employee must be placed on leave of absence without pay for that workday unless he or she is 

approved to use catastrophic leave. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 3-23-94; A 11-16-95; R147-01, 1-22-2002; A by 

Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-29-2005) 

 

 NAC 284.594  Unauthorized and unreported absences. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.175, 

284.345) 

 1.  An unauthorized and unreported absence must be considered an absence without leave and 

a deduction of pay must be made for the absence. 

 2.  An unauthorized or unreported absence may be considered an absence without leave, and 

a deduction of pay may be made for the absence. 

 3.  An employee who has an unauthorized or unreported absence may be subject to disciplinary 

action pursuant to NAC 284.646 or 284.650. 

 4.  A deduction from the pay of an exempt classified employee or exempt unclassified 

employee must be made in increments of a full workday. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § G, eff. 8-11-73]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 10-26-84; 1-26-

87; 11-16-95; R147-01, 1-22-2002; A by Personnel Comm’n by R145-05, 12-29-2005; R062-09, 

10-27-2009) 

 

INFORMATIONAL NOTE:  Certain personnel actions, such as transfers, authorized leave 

without pay and those separations listed below in NAC 284.598, do not constitute a break in 

continuous service but may result in adjustments to pay, benefits computation of seniority, 

and/or probationary periods as provided in this chapter. 

 

 NAC 284.598  Breaks in continuous service. (NRS 284.065, 284.155)  The following are 

not breaks in continuous service: 

 1.  Military leave for active service if the person returns from leave within 90 calendar days 

after an honorable discharge from military service. 

 2.  A layoff if the employee is reemployed within 1 year after the date he or she was laid off. 

 3.  A seasonal layoff if the employee is reemployed within 1 year after the end of the previous 

seasonal appointment. 

 4.  A separation as a result of a permanent disability arising from a work-related injury or 

occupational disease, if the employee is reemployed within 1 year after the date on which he or 

she sustained the permanent disability as determined pursuant to NAC 284.6013. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule VII § H, eff. 8-11-73; A 7-3-76]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 8-26-

83; 4-19-88; 3-1-96; A by Personnel Comm’n by R022-05, 10-31-2005; R142-05 & R145-05, 12-

29-2005) 
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 For the purposes of this subsection, interest shall be computed at the assumed investment 

income rate used in the actuarial valuation of the System next preceding the date of repayment 

under paragraph (a) or agreement under paragraph (b). 

 2.  Upon redepositing the member’s withdrawn contributions, with interest, the member 

shall have restored completely the member’s previous service credit which had been 

relinquished by the withdrawal of such contributions. If a member fails to perform fully an 

agreed repayment schedule, the member is entitled to service credit for previous service in the 

same proportion that the member’s repayment of withdrawn contributions bears to the total 

amount of withdrawn contributions.” 

 

NRS 284.379 states, “Separation or disability retirement of employee with disability.  
In the employment of a person with a disability in the state service, continued efforts must be 

made to retain the person by making reasonable accommodations that enable the person to 

perform the essential functions of his or her current position and to enjoy the benefits and 

privileges of the position. An appointing authority shall consider separation or disability 

retirement if: 

 1.  An employee can no longer perform the essential functions of the position with or 

without reasonable accommodations; and 

 2.  Without undue hardship, as that term is defined pursuant to the Americans with 

Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. §§ 12101 et seq., the employee cannot be appointed to a 

position for which a vacancy exists and for which the employee is qualified at or below the 

grade of the employee’s current position.” 

 

 NRS 281.390 states in part, “Sick leave of public employees:  Election of benefits; 

amount limited when eligible for benefits for industrial or occupational disease. 

 5.  The public employee may decline to use any or part of the sick leave benefit normally 

payable to the employee while receiving benefits pursuant to chapters 616A to 616D, inclusive, 

or 617 of NRS. During that time, the employee must be considered on leave of absence without 

pay.” 

 

 NAC 284.611  Separation for physical, mental or emotional disorder. (NRS 284.065, 

284.155, 284.355, 284.383, 284.385, 284.390) 

 1.  Before separating an employee because of a physical, mental or emotional disorder which 

results in the inability of the employee to perform the essential functions of his or her job, the 

appointing authority must: 

 (a) Verify with the employee’s physician or by an independent medical evaluation paid for by 

the appointing authority that the condition does not, or is not expected to, respond to treatment or 

that an extended absence from work will be required; 

 (b) Determine whether reasonable accommodation can be made to: 

  (1) Enable the employee to perform the essential functions of his or her job; or 

  (2) Reassign the employee if it has been determined that: 

   (I) There is no reasonable accommodation that can be made to enable the employee to 

perform the essential functions of his or her job; or  

   (II) All other reasonable accommodations would cause an undue hardship to the 

appointing authority. 

 (c) Make a request to the Administrator of the Rehabilitation Division of the Department of 

Employment, Training and Rehabilitation to obtain the services provided by that Division, or if 

the employee is receiving worker’s compensation, request the services of the rehabilitation 
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provider, to evaluate the employee’s condition and to provide any rehabilitative services possible; 

and 

 (d) Ensure that all reasonable efforts have been made to retain the employee. 

 2.  A separation pursuant to this section is only justified when: 

 (a) The information obtained through the procedures specified in subsection 1 supports the 

decision to separate; 

 (b) The employee is not on sick leave or other approved leave; and 

 (c) A referral has been made to the Public Employees’ Retirement System and the employee 

has been determined to be ineligible for, or has refused, disability retirement. 

 3.  A permanent employee separated pursuant to this section is entitled to the same rights and 

privileges afforded permanent employees who are dismissed for disciplinary reasons. The 

procedures contained in NAC 284.656, 284.6561 and 284.6563 must be followed, and he or she 

may appeal the separation to the hearing officer. 

 4.  A permanent employee who is separated because of a physical, mental or emotional 

disorder is eligible for reinstatement pursuant to NAC 284.386 if he or she recovers from the 

disorder. 

 5.  As used in this section, “undue hardship” has the meaning ascribed to it in 29 C.F.R. § 

1630.2. 

(Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 10-26-84; A 8-1-91; 12-26-91; 7-6-92; R197-99, 

1-26-2000; A by Personnel Comm’n by R182-03, 1-27-2004; R143-05, 12-29-2005; R063-09, 11-

25-2009, R009-14, 6-23-14; R097-16, 11-2-2016) 

 

 NRS 284.380 states, “Layoffs; reemployment lists. 

 1.  In accordance with regulations, an appointing authority may lay off an employee in the 

classified service whenever the appointing authority deems it necessary by reason of shortage 

of work or money or of the abolition of a position or of other material changes in duties or 

organization. 

 2.  Among other factors, an appointing authority shall consider, in the manner provided by 

regulation, the status, seniority and service rating of employees in determining the order of 

layoffs. 

 3.  Within a reasonable time before the effective date of a proposed layoff, the appointing 

authority shall give written notice thereof to the Administrator. The Administrator shall make 

such orders relating thereto as the Administrator considers necessary to secure compliance with 

the regulations. 

 4.  The name of every regular employee so laid off must be placed on an appropriate 

reemployment list.” 

 

 NRS 286.3007 states in part, “Purchase by state agency for credit for service:  

Conditions.  

 3.  If a state agency is required to reduce the number of its employees, it shall purchase credit 

for service pursuant to NRS 286.300 for any member who: 

 (a) Is eligible to purchase credit; 

 (b) Is eligible to retire or will be made eligible by the purchase of the credit; 

 (c) Agrees to retire upon completion of the purchase; and 

 (d) Has been employed by the agency for 5 or more years. 

 4.  If a state agency is required to purchase credit pursuant to subsection 3, it shall pay 5 

percent of the cost of purchasing the credit and an additional 5 percent of the cost for each year 
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that the person has been employed by the agency in excess of the minimum requirement of 5 

years.” 

 

 NAC 284.612  Layoffs:  Definitions. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.380)  For the purposes 

of NAC 284.612 to 284.632, inclusive: 

 1.  “Geographical location” means: 

 (a) Clark, Lincoln, Nye and Esmeralda Counties; 

 (b) Carson City, Lyon, Churchill, Storey, Douglas, Mineral and Washoe Counties; 

 (c) Pershing, Humboldt, Elko, Lander, Eureka and White Pine Counties; or 

 (d) Any city located outside of this State. 

 2.  “Option” means a clearly identified subclassification mentioned in the class specification 

approved by the Commission. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 8-26-83; A 10-26-84; 7-21-89; 11-16-95; R146-01, 

1-18-2002; A by Personnel Comm’n by R096-03, 10-30-2003) 

 

 NAC 284.614  Layoffs:  Procedure. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.380) 

 1.  Except as otherwise provided in NAC 284.425, if it becomes necessary for a classified 

employee to be laid off because of a shortage of work or money, the abolition of a position, or 

some other material change in duties or organization: 

 (a) The director of the department shall determine in what geographical location, class series, 

class and option the reductions in staff will have the least detrimental effect on the operations of 

the department and shall specify layoffs accordingly. In the Department of Health and Human 

Services and the Nevada System of Higher Education, the administrator of a division may be 

designated to make these determinations with the approval of the director of the department. 

 (b) Within the department, geographical location, class series, class and option selected, all 

employees of the department who are not permanent must be separated from service before any 

permanent employees in the following order: 

  (1) Emergency employees. 

  (2) Temporary employees. 

  (3) Provisional employees. 

  (4) Probationary employees. 

 (c) If additional reductions are necessary, permanent employees must be laid off on the basis 

of seniority pursuant to NAC 284.632. 

 (d) In the department, geographical location, class series, class and option where layoffs are to 

take place, those employees with the least seniority must be laid off, transferred as set forth in 

subsection 2 or voluntarily demoted as set forth in NAC 284.618. 

 (e) An appointing authority may consider limiting layoffs to employees in full-time or part-

time positions. Similar considerations may be given to and limitations placed on positions 

requiring selective certification pursuant to NAC 284.361. 

 2.  If a permanent employee must be laid off for one of the reasons set forth in subsection 1, 

the appointing authority shall notify the employee that he or she may choose to: 

 (a) Transfer within his or her department, class and option into the position of the employee in 

his or her department, class and option with the least seniority; 

 (b) Be voluntarily demoted as set forth in NAC 284.618; or  

 (c) Exercise his or her reemployment rights as set forth in NAC 284.630. 

 3.  Within 3 working days after an employee has been notified of his or her choices pursuant 

to subsection 2, he or she must designate in writing to the appointing authority the choice he or 

she will exercise. 
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 4.  For the purposes of this section, divisions of the Department of Health and Human Services 

and the Nevada System of Higher Education shall be deemed to be departments. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule XIII § B subsec. 1, eff. 8-11-73]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 8-26-

83; 8-28-85; 8-22-86; 7-21-89; 8-1-91; 3-27-92; 9-16-92; 11-16-95; 10-27-97; R031-98, 4-17-98; 

R043-99, 9-27-99; R146-01, 1-18-2002; R147-01, 1-22-2002; A by Personnel Comm’n by R096-

03, 10-30-2003; R143-05, 12-29-2005) 

 

 NAC 284.618  Layoffs:  Voluntary demotions. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.175, 284.380)

 1.  In lieu of being laid off, a permanent employee may choose to be voluntarily demoted to a 

vacant position or displace an employee within the department and geographical location where 

employed to one of the next lower classes: 

 (a) Within his or her current class series and option; or 

 (b) Within the class series and option from which he or she was appointed to his or her current 

position during current continuous service if he or she cannot be demoted pursuant to paragraph 

(a). 

 For the purposes of this subsection, divisions of the Department of Health and Human Services 

and the Nevada System of Higher Education shall be deemed to be departments. 

 2.  No employee in a higher class may displace an employee in a lower class who has more 

seniority. If an employee chooses to displace another, he or she must displace the member of the 

next lower class who has the least seniority. If that member has more seniority, the displacing 

employee must descend further in the class series. 

 3.  The employees displaced reestablish the layoff class. 

 4.  An employee may choose to displace another only if he or she meets the minimum 

qualifications for the class, option and position. For the purposes of this subsection, qualifications 

for a position may be different from those of the class and option only when selective certification 

is required pursuant to subsection 2 of NAC 284.361. 

 5.  Full-time, part-time and seasonal employees must be treated separately and can only 

displace like employees. 

 6.  Displacement is always a movement to a class at a lower grade. 

 7.  A current employee who elects to displace another employee has priority over former 

employees already on reemployment lists. 

 8.  The pay of the employee who is taking a voluntary demotion cannot exceed the highest 

step for the class to which the employee is being demoted. If the current pay falls within the lower 

rate range, no reduction in pay may occur unless money is not available as certified by the Chief  

of the Budget Division or, in the case of an agency which is not supported from the State General 

Fund, as certified by the administrator of that agency. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule XIII § B subsec. 2, eff. 8-11-73]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 8-26-

83; 10-26-84; 7-21-89; 8-1-91; R146-01, 1-18-2002; A by Personnel Comm’n by R096-03, 10-30-

2003; R143-05, 12-29-2005) 

 

 NAC 284.626  Layoffs:  Notice. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.380)  All permanent 

employees to be laid off must be given written notice of the layoff at least 30 calendar days before 

the effective date of the layoff. A copy of the seniority calculations and layoff notice must be sent 

to the Division of Human Resource Management. The notice must specifically list the positions 

and locations where the employee has a current right to displace another employee, if those 

positions and locations are known at the time of notification. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule XIII § B subsec. 5, eff. 8-11-73]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 8-26-

83; 8-1-91;  A by Personnel Comm’n by R143-05, 12-29-2005) 
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 NAC 284.630  Layoffs:  Reemployment. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.250, 284.380) 

 1.  Names of permanent employees who have received a layoff notice will be placed on the 

statewide reemployment list for the class and option of the position involved in the layoff, in order 

of seniority. 

 2.  Names of permanent employees who have received a layoff notice will also be placed on 

the statewide reemployment list for other classes for which they qualify at or below the grade of 

the class held at the time of layoff, in order of seniority but behind those identified in subsection 

1. 

 3.  The employee shall provide an employment application and a list of classes and options he 

or she is seeking for reemployment to the Division of Human Resource Management within 30 

days after his or her layoff date. The agency shall provide the seniority calculations to the Division 

of Human Resource Management. 

 4.  Names of permanent employees who have received a layoff notice will be integrated with 

names of employees who are eligible for reemployment pursuant to NAC 284.6014. 

 5.  Part-time employees are not entitled to be reemployed in full-time positions, and full-time 

employees are not entitled to be reemployed in part-time positions. 

 6.  Seniority must be projected and counted up to the layoff date, or transfer date if the 

provisions of subsection 4 of NAC 284.394 apply. Seniority determines ranking on all 

reemployment lists and will not be recalculated unless the employee is affected by a subsequent 

layoff. 

 7.  Each person on the list retains reemployment eligibility for 1 year after the layoff date. 

Except as otherwise provided in this section, reemployment rights are exhausted when a person 

accepts or declines an offer of employment in the class or a comparable class with the same grade 

in the department and geographical location of the layoff. Any exception to this provision must be 

approved by the Division of Human Resource Management. When a person accepts a position at 

a grade lower than that held at the time of layoff, his or her name will be removed from all 

reemployment lists that are equal to or below the grade accepted. 

 8.  A permanent employee who has been laid off and is being reemployed in the department, 

class and option from which he or she was laid off must have his or her permanent status restored. 

A permanent employee who is reemployed in a different class or in a different department must 

serve a new probationary period. If the employee does not complete the probationary period, his 

or her name must be restored to the appropriate reemployment list for any remaining part of the 

year following the layoff date. When the right to reemployment expires, the person affected retains 

the right to reinstatement or reappointment pursuant to NAC 284.386 or 284.404. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule XIII § B subsec. 6, eff. 8-11-73]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 8-26-

83; 10-26-84; 7-21-89; 8-1-91; 11-12-93; 3-1-96; A by Personnel Comm’n by R183-03, 1-27-

2004; R143-05, 12-29-2005) 

 

 NAC 284.632  Layoffs:  Calculation of seniority. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.335, 

284.380) 

 1.  For the purposes of calculating an employee’s seniority for NAC 284.614, 284.618 and 

284.630: 

 (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the total number of years of continuous full-

time equivalent service up to the effective date of the layoff must be included. 

 (b) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the sum of the calculation made pursuant to 

paragraph (a) or, if applicable, subsection 5 must be reduced by the following periods if those 

periods occurred during the 36 months immediately preceding the date of the notification of layoff: 



SEPARATIONS FROM SERVICE  Page | K - 10 
 

Revision #5, 11/2/16 

  (1) For a nonexempt employee, any combination of leave without pay and catastrophic leave 

in excess of 240 hours in the period preceding the date of the notification of layoff equal to 12 

months of full-time equivalent service; 

  (2) For an exempt classified employee or exempt unclassified employee, any combination 

of leave without pay and catastrophic leave in excess of 30 working days in the period preceding 

the date of the notification of layoff equal to 12 months of full-time equivalent service; and 

  (3) Any time covered by a report on performance which rated the employee below standard, 

excluding evaluations received within 75 calendar days before the notification of layoff. 

 2.  For the purposes of the reduction in the calculation of seniority required by paragraph (b) 

of subsection 1: 

 (a) The reduction may not include: 

  (1) A leave of absence without pay during a fiscal emergency of the State or an agency 

pursuant to NAC 284.580;  

  (2) A leave of absence without pay for a work-related injury or illness pursuant to NRS 

281.390; or  

  (3) A military leave of absence pursuant to NRS 284.359. 

 (b) As set forth in subparagraphs (1) and (2) of paragraph (b) of subsection 1, an employee 

whose base hours are more than 80 hours biweekly must be allotted additional leave without pay 

and catastrophic leave in proportion to the base hours for his or her pay class designation. 

 3.  For the purposes of calculating seniority for layoff, if seniority is otherwise equal, seniority 

must be determined in the following order: 

 (a) Total time within the occupational group; 

 (b) Total time within the department; and 

 (c) By lot. 

 4.  For the purposes of calculating seniority for reemployment, if seniority is otherwise equal, 

seniority must be determined by lot. 

 5.  A department may request from the Commission approval to calculate the number of years 

of continuous full-time equivalent service of an employee of the department by doubling the time 

spent by the employee in his or her present occupational group as categorized by NRS 284.171 

and adding that amount to the time spent by the employee in all former occupational groups up to 

the date of layoff. If the Commission approves the request of the department to calculate the 

number of years of service pursuant to this section, the department shall use this method to 

calculate the number of years of service: 

 (a) Only to determine which employees will receive a layoff notice and not for the placement 

of those employees on the reemployment list; and 

 (b) Until the department seeks from and is granted approval by the Commission to revert to the 

method of calculating the number of years of service set forth in paragraph (a) of subsection 1. 

 (Added to NAC by Personnel Comm’n by R096-03, eff. 10-30-2003; A by R182-03, 1-27-

2004; R143-05, 12-29-2005) 
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 6.  Insubordination or willful disobedience. 

 7.  Inexcusable neglect of duty. 

 8.  Fraud in securing appointment. 

 9.  Prohibited political activity. 

 10.  Dishonesty. 

 11.  Abuse, damage to or waste of public equipment, property or supplies because of 

inexcusable negligence or willful acts. 

 12.  Drug or alcohol abuse as described in NRS 284.4062 and NAC 284.884. 

 13.  Conviction of any criminal act involving moral turpitude. 

 14.  Being under the influence of intoxicants, a controlled substance without a medical 

doctor’s prescription or any other illegally used substances while on duty. 

 15.  Unauthorized absence from duty or abuse of leave privileges. 

 16.  Violation of any rule of the Commission.  

 17.  Falsification of any records. 

 18.  Misrepresentation of official capacity or authority. 

 19.  Violation of any safety rule adopted or enforced by the employee’s appointing authority. 

 20.  Carrying, while on the premises of the workplace, any firearm which is not required for 

the performance of the employee’s current job duties or authorized by his or her appointing 

authority. 

 21.  Any act of violence which arises out of or in the course of the performance of the 

employee’s duties, including, without limitation, stalking, conduct that is threatening or 

intimidating, assault or battery. 

 22.  Failure to participate in any investigation of alleged discrimination, including, without 

limitation, an investigation concerning sexual harassment. 

 23.  Failure to participate in an administrative investigation authorized by the employee’s 

appointing authority. 

 [Personnel Div., Rule XII § D, eff. 8-11-73]—(NAC A by Dep’t of Personnel, 10-26-84; 7-22-

87; 12-26-91; 7-1-94; 11-16-95; R031-98, 4-17-98; A by Personnel Comm’n by R065-98, 7-24-

98; R147-06, 12-7-2006) 

 

 NRS 193.105 states in part, “Termination of employment, removal from office or 

impeachment of public employee or officer upon conviction for sale of controlled 

substance. 
 1.  If, during the course of his or her employment, an employee of the State or of any political 

subdivision of the State is convicted on or after October 1, 1989, of violating any federal or state 

law prohibiting the sale of any controlled substance, the employer upon discovery of the 

conviction shall terminate the employment of the employee.” 

 

 NAC 284.653  Driving under the influence; unlawful acts involving controlled 

substance. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.383, 284.385, 284.407) 

 1.  An employee is subject to any disciplinary action set forth in subsection 2, as determined 

by the appointing authority, if the employee is convicted of any of the following offenses: 

 (a) If the offense occurred while the employee was driving a state vehicle, or a privately owned 

vehicle on state business: 

  (1) Driving under the influence in violation of NRS 484C.110; or 

  (2) Any offense resulting from an incident in which the employee was: 

   (I) Originally charged with driving under the influence; or  
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   (II) Charged with any other offense for which driving under the influence is an element 

of the offense. 

 (b) The unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensing, possession or use of a controlled 

substance on the premises of the workplace or on state business. 

 2.  An appointing authority may impose the following disciplinary actions if an employee is 

convicted of an offense set forth in subsection 1: 

 (a) For the first offense: 

  (1) Dismissal; 

  (2) Demotion, if permitted by the organizational structure of the agency for which he or she 

is employed; 

  (3) Suspension for 30 calendar days; or 

  (4) Suspension for 30 calendar days and demotion. 

 (b) For the second offense within 5 years, dismissal. 

 3.  An employee who is suspended or demoted pursuant to subsection 2 must: 

 (a) Agree to be evaluated through an employee assistance program; and 

 (b) Complete any program of treatment recommended by the evaluation. 

 4.  If an employee fails to complete the program of treatment, the appointing authority must 

dismiss the employee. 

 5.  Pursuant to NRS 193.105, an employee who is convicted of violating any state or federal 

law prohibiting the sale of a controlled substance must be dismissed. 

 6.  An employee must report a conviction of any offense described in this section to his or her 

appointing authority within 5 working days after it occurs. If the employee fails to make that report, 

he or she must be dismissed. 

 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 7-22-87; A 4-20-90; 3-27-92; A by Personnel 

Comm’n by R147-06, 12-7-2006; R141-07, 1-30-2008) 

 

 NAC 284.655  Investigation; waiver. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.387) 
 1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, before an appointing authority may dismiss, 

suspend or demote a permanent employee, the appointing authority must first ensure that an 

impartial fact-finding investigation has been conducted to determine that evidence exists to justify 

the dismissal, suspension or demotion. 

 2.  The investigation described in subsection 1 may be waived if the employee agrees in 

writing with the allegations on which the dismissal, suspension or demotion is based. 

 (Added to NAC by Personnel Comm’n by R027-11, eff. 12-30-2011) 

 

 NEW  Request for extension to complete internal administrative investigation. 

 1.  Pursuant to subsection 2 of NRS 284.387, if an appointing authority wishes to request 

an initial extension of not more than 60 days from the Administrator to complete an internal 

administrative investigation that could lead to disciplinary action against an employee pursuant 

to NRS 284.385 and make a determination as a result of the investigation, the appointing 

authority must: 

 (a) Submit the request to the Administrator on a form prescribed by the Division of Human 

Resource Management on or before the 90th day after the employee was provided notice of the 

allegations against the employee; 

 (b) Explain in the request why the appointing authority is unable to complete the internal 

administrative investigation and make a determination within 90 days after the employee was 

provided notice of the allegations; and 
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 (c) Provide a copy of the request to the employee who is the subject of the internal 

administrative investigation. 

 2.  If an initial extension is granted pursuant to subsection 1 and the appointing authority 

is unable to complete the internal administrative investigation and make a determination within 

the period of the extension, the appointing authority may request an additional extension to be 

approved by the Governor. If the appointing authority wishes to request an additional extension, 

the appointing authority must: 

 (a) Submit the request in writing to the Administrator, for submission to the Governor, on 

or before the expiration date of the initial extension; 

 (b) Explain in the request why the appointing authority is unable to complete the internal 

administrative investigation and make a determination within the period of the initial extension; 

and 

 (c) Provide a copy of the request to the employee who is the subject of the internal 

administrative investigation. 

 3.  The Administrator may deny a request for an extension that is not submitted within the 

period required by paragraph (a) of subsection 1. 

 4.  The Governor may deny a request for an extension that is not submitted within the period 

required by paragraph (a) of subsection 2. 

 (Added to NAC by Personnel Comm’n by R076-16, eff. 11-2-2016) 

 

 NAC 284.656  Notice. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.383, 284.385, 284.390)  Except as 

otherwise provided in NAC 284.6563, if an appointing authority proposes that a permanent 

employee be dismissed, suspended or demoted, the following procedure for providing notice of 

the proposed action must be followed:  

 1.  The employee must be given at least 10 working days’ written notice of the proposed action 

on the form provided by the Division of Human Resource Management. 

 2.  The notice may be given in person or by means of any delivery service that provides a 

written or electronic record of the date the notice was sent and the date the notice was received. 
If the notice is sent by means of a delivery service, the notice must be sent to the employee’s last 

known address. The notice must not be given by electronic mail, the use of social media or other 

electronic means. If the notice is returned without having been received by the employee, the 

employee’s date of receipt shall be deemed to be the third day after the date the notice was sent. 

 3.  The notice must: 

 (a) Specify the proposed date on which the action is effective. 

 (b) Inform the employee that a hearing has been scheduled on his or her behalf in the manner 

prescribed in NAC 284.6561 and specify the date, time and place of the hearing. 

 (c) Specify the charges, the reasons for them and the cause of action contained in NAC 284.646 

or 284.650 on which the proposed action is based. 

 4.  The notice of the proposed action must be signed by the appointing authority or his or her 

designated representative before the notice is given to the employee. 

 5.  Upon its receipt, the employee must be asked to sign the notice. If he or she refuses to sign 

the notice, the refusal must be noted on the notice. The employee’s signature is not an admission 

by him or her of any of the allegations set forth in the notice. 

 6.  If the employee does not understand the reasons for the proposed action or the procedures 

related to disciplinary actions, including, without limitation, the right to notice, a hearing and an 

appeal, the employee may seek an explanation from the appointing authority or another person in 

the agency familiar with the procedure. 
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 7.  As used in this section, “social media” includes, without limitation, any electronic service 

or account or electronic content, including, without limitation, any video, photograph, blog, 

video blog, podcast, instant message, text message, electronic mail program or service, online 

service or Internet website profile. 
 (Added to NAC by Dep’t of Personnel, eff. 10-26-84; A 8-28-85; 7-21-89; 8-1-91; A by 

Personnel Comm’n, 8-1-91; A by Dep’t of Personnel, 11-12-93; 11-16-95; 11-16-95; A by 

Personnel Comm’n by R063-09, 11-25-2009; R042-15, 1-1-2016) 

 

NAC 284.6561  Hearing. (NRS 284.065, 284.155, 284.383, 284.385, 284.390)  Except as 

otherwise provided in NAC 284.6563, if an appointing authority proposes that a permanent 

employee be dismissed, suspended or demoted, the following procedure for a hearing before the 

proposed action must be followed: 

 1.  A hearing must be scheduled on the employee’s behalf unless waived in writing by the 

employee pursuant to subsection 2. The hearing must be scheduled to take place not earlier than 7 

working days after the written notice of the proposed action is delivered or deemed received 

pursuant to subsection 2 of NAC 284.656. The hearing must not be scheduled on a day which is 

not a regular working day for the employee. If the appointing authority or his or her designated 

representative and the employee agree, the date of the hearing may be changed. 

 2.  The employee may waive the right to a hearing before the proposed action in writing. If 

the employee makes such a waiver, the employee may not be dismissed, suspended or demoted 

before the proposed effective date. The waiver does not waive the employee’s right to an appeal 

after the action is taken. 

 3.  The appointing authority or his or her designated representative shall conduct the hearing. 

The designated representative must be a person with the authority to recommend a final decision 

to the appointing authority. The appointing authority shall render the final decision. 

 4.  At any time after receiving the notice and before the hearing, the employee may examine 

all materials that are to be used by the person conducting the hearing. The employee is entitled to 

administrative leave with pay as provided in NAC 284.589 to prepare for the hearings regarding 

his or her suspension, demotion or dismissal. 

 5.  This process is an informal proceeding between the two parties, the appointing authority 

and his or her designated representative and the employee, who meet together to discuss the 

proposed action. Witnesses are not allowed to attend, but each party may be accompanied by a 

person of his or her choice. 

 6.  The employee may respond both orally and in writing to the appointing authority or his or 

her designated representative at the hearing. 

 7.  The employee must be: 

 (a) Given a copy of the finding or recommendation, if any, resulting from the hearing; and 

 (b) Notified in writing of the appointing authority’s decision regarding the proposed action and 

the reasons therefor on or before the effective date of the action. 

 8.  The notice given pursuant to paragraph (b) of subsection 7 may be given in person or by 

means of any delivery service that provides a written or electronic record of the date the notice 

was sent and the date the notice was received. If the notice is sent by means of a delivery service, 

the notice must be sent to the employee’s last known address. The notice must not be given by 

electronic mail, the use of social media or other electronic means. If the notice is returned 

without having been received by the employee, the employee’s date of receipt shall be deemed to 

be the third day after the date the notice was sent. As used in this subsection, “social media” has 

the meaning ascribed to it in subsection 7 of NAC 284.656. 
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 9.  An employee who has been dismissed, demoted or suspended may request a hearing before 

the hearing officer of the Division of Human Resource Management pursuant to NRS 284.390 

within 10 working days after the effective date of his or her dismissal, demotion or suspension. 

Such a request must be addressed to the Administrator and submitted on the form provided by the 

Division of Human Resource Management. 

 (Added to NAC by Personnel Comm’n by R063-09, eff. 11-25-2009; A by R011-11, 10-26-

2011; R076-16, 11-2-2016) 

 

 NAC 284.6563  Notice and hearing not required in certain circumstances. (NRS 

284.065, 284.155, 284.383, 284.385, 284.390) 

 1.  The procedures specified in NAC 284.656 and 284.6561 need not be followed before 

dismissing or suspending a permanent employee if the circumstances give the appointing authority 

a reasonable cause to believe that the retention of an employee on active duty poses a threat to life, 

limb or property or may be seriously detrimental to the interests of the State. 

 2.  If the circumstances set forth in subsection 1 are present, the appointing authority may 

temporarily assign the employee to duties in which those circumstances do not exist or, if the 

temporary assignment is not feasible: 

 (a) Immediately place the employee on administrative leave with pay until the procedures 

specified in NAC 284.656 and 284.6561 have been followed; or 

 (b) Immediately suspend or dismiss the employee. In this case the appointing authority, his or 

her designated representative, or the employee’s supervisor shall attempt to inform the employee 

before the action is taken of the charges against him or her and provide the employee with an 

opportunity to rebut the charges. The procedures specified in NAC 284.656 and 284.6561 must be 

followed as soon as practicable after the immediate suspension or dismissal. 

 (Added to NAC by Personnel Comm’n by R063-09, eff. 11-25-2009) 

 

 NRS 284.390 states, “Hearing to determine reasonableness of dismissal, demotion or 

suspension; judicial review. 

 1.  Within 10 working days after the effective date of an employee’s dismissal, demotion or 

suspension pursuant to NRS 284.385, the employee who has been dismissed, demoted or 

suspended may request in writing a hearing before the hearing officer of the Commission to 

determine the reasonableness of the action. The request may be made by mail and shall be 

deemed timely if it is postmarked within 10 working days after the effective date of the 

employee’s dismissal, demotion or suspension. 

 2.  The hearing officer shall grant the employee a hearing within 20 working days after 

receipt of the employee’s written request unless the time limitation is waived, in writing, by the 

employee or there is a conflict with the hearing calendar of the hearing officer, in which case 

the hearing must be scheduled for the earliest possible date after the expiration of the 20 days. 

 3.  The employee may represent himself or herself at the hearing or be represented by an 

attorney or other person of the employee’s own choosing. 

 4.  Technical rules of evidence do not apply at the hearing. 

 5.  After the hearing and consideration of the evidence, the hearing officer shall render a 

decision in writing, setting forth the reasons therefor. 

 6.  If the hearing officer determines that the dismissal, demotion or suspension was without 

just cause as provided in NRS 284.385, the action must be set aside and the employee must be 

reinstated, with full pay for the period of dismissal, demotion or suspension. 

 7.  The decision of the hearing officer is binding on the parties. 
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 8.  Any petition for judicial review of the decision of the hearing officer must be filed in 

accordance with the provisions of chapter 233B of NRS.” 
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  Use of Alcohol or Drugs .......................................................................... Q-2 

NRS 284.4065 Screening tests:  General provisions. 

  Use of Alcohol or Drugs .......................................................................... Q-2 

NRS 284.4066 Screening tests:  Applicants for positions affecting public safety required 

to take screening test; appointing authority authorized to consider 

results; provision of results to applicant upon request. 

  Use of Alcohol or Drugs .......................................................................... Q-3 

NRS 284.4067 Screening tests:  Requirements for administration; use; results. 

  Use of Alcohol or Drugs .......................................................................... Q-4 

NRS 284.4068 Screening tests:  Results confidential; admissibility of results; security; 

disclosure. 

  Use of Alcohol or Drugs .......................................................................... Q-4 

NRS 284.410 False statement or report; fraud. 

  Prohibitions and Offenses ....................................................................... O-3 

NRS 284.415 Receipt or payment of consideration for appointment or promotion. 

  Filling Vacancies in Employment ............................................................ D-20 

  Prohibitions and Offenses ....................................................................... O-4 

NRS 284.420 Obstruction of right to examination, eligibility, certification or 

appointment; furnishing special or secret information. 

  Prohibitions and Offenses ....................................................................... O-4 

NRS 284.425 Member of subversive organization ineligible for appointment or 

employment in public service. 

  Prohibitions and Offenses ....................................................................... O-4 

NRS 284.430 Penalties. 

  Prohibitions and Offenses ....................................................................... O-4 

NRS 286.3007 Purchase by state agency for credit for service:  Conditions. 

  Separations from Service ......................................................................... K-6 

NRS 286.430 Withdrawal of contributions. 

  Separations from Service ......................................................................... K-4 

NRS 286.440 Redeposit of withdrawn contributions upon return to service:  

Procedure. 

  Separations from Service ......................................................................... K-4 

NRS 286.510 Eligibility:  Age and service of police officers, firefighters and other 

employees; reduction of benefit for retirement before required age. 

  Separations from Service ......................................................................... K-1 

NRS 287.0445 Payment of premiums or contributions for state officer or employee 

injured in course of employment while member of Program. 

  Attendance and Leaves ............................................................................ I-13 

NRS 288.230 Legislative declaration; illegality of strikes. 

  Prohibitions and Offenses ....................................................................... O-9 
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NRS 289.060 Notification and requirements for interview, interrogation or hearing 

relating to investigation; prohibition against use of certain 

statements or answers in subsequent criminal proceedings. 

  Disciplinary Procedures .......................................................................... L-1 
NRS 289.080 Right to presence and assistance of representatives at interview, 

interrogation or hearing relating to investigation; confidential 
information; disclosure; record of interview, interrogation or 
hearing; right of subject of investigation to review and copy 
investigation file upon appeal. 

  Disciplinary Procedures .......................................................................... L-3 

NRS 289.800 Reimbursement for cost to repair or replace uniform, accessories or 

safety equipment damaged or destroyed in performance of duties. 

  Compensation .......................................................................................... C-24 

NRS 293.463 Employees may absent themselves from employment to vote:  

Procedure; penalty. 

  Attendance and Leaves ............................................................................ I-31 

NRS 331.220 Surreptitious electronic surveillance prohibited; exceptions. 

  Prohibitions and Offenses ....................................................................... O-2 

NRS 353.224 Approval of Legislature or Interim Finance Committee required for 

certain changes of positions. 

  Classification ........................................................................................... B-2 

NRS 392.4577 Employer required to grant leave to parent to participate in school 

conferences and other school-related activities; conditions; 

exception. 

  Attendance and Leaves ............................................................................ I-25 

NRS 392.920 Employer prohibited from threatening or taking retaliatory action 

against parent for parent’s participation in certain school 

conferences and school-related activities; penalty; authorization 

for parent to file claim with Labor Commissioner. 

  Attendance and Leaves ............................................................................ I-25 

NRS 394.179 Parental involvement:  Employer required to grant leave to parent to 

participate in school conferences and other school-related 

activities; conditions; exception. 

  Attendance and Leaves ............................................................................ I-26 

NRS 414.070 Additional powers of Governor during emergency or disaster. 

  Attendance and Leaves ............................................................................ I-33 

NRS 414.260 Membership in volunteer search and rescue or reserve unit of sheriff’s 

department or Civil Air Patrol:  Discharge of employee for 

membership prohibited; exceptions; civil remedy. 

  Disciplinary Procedures .......................................................................... L-4 

NRS 480.320 Payment of cadets. 

  Compensation .......................................................................................... C-13 

NRS 613.075 Inspection by person who is subject of records; provision of copies 

upon request; cost of copies; person permitted to submit written 

explanation in response to information in records and to challenge 

accuracy; limitations. 

  Personnel Records ................................................................................... N-2 
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NRS 613.330 Unlawful employment practices:  Discrimination on basis of race, color, 

religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, age, 

disability or national origin; interference with aid or appliance for 

disability; refusal to permit service animal at place of employment. 

  Prohibitions and Offenses ....................................................................... O-7 

NRS 613.333 Unlawful employment practices:  Discrimination for lawful use of any 

product outside premises of employer which does not adversely 

affect job performance or safety of other employees. 

  Diciplinary Procedures ........................................................................... L-4 

NRS 616C.475 Amount and duration of compensation;  limitations;  requirements for 

certification of disability;  offer of light-duty employment. 

  Attendance and Leaves ............................................................................ I-23 

NRS 629.031 “Provider of health care” defined. 

  Attendance and Leaves ............................................................................ I-3 


